Judas Priest-Live Vengeance ’82 (DVD Review)

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December, 2022
Released: 2006, Sony BMG
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Judas Priest has been in the news quite a bit lately. Halford has just published his second book (BIBLICAL), as of time of writing the band is enjoying a 50th Anniversary tour and of course the band was recently inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. I feel this a is a good a time as any to look back at a pair of Judas Priest DVD’s, in our eternal quest to review every Metal DVD ever released. This month I am reviewing a brace a live shows, LIVE VENGEANCE ‘82 (2006) and RISING IN THE EAST (2005). Feel free to enjoy both reviews in this feature.

Judas Priest has often suffered from a confusing video history and this is a prime example. LIVE VENGEANCE ‘82, was originally released as LIVE on VHS in 1983 and fir some reason the band called their next live album LIVE as well! My feeling is that in retrospect the band and/or management realized their mistake and in a spot of historical revisionism, the band have finally issued this concert in DVD with a new title and art. Last bit of trivia, was also released in 2004 as the METALOGY box set. In a rare break for the fans this was released as a stand-alone DVD for those who didn’t want the box set.

The DVD is pretty plain. It had a boring black and white cover but it does have a two-page booklet with notes and a message from the band. There are no bonus features except a discography. The menu is simple and easy to navigate.

The concert was filmed in December 1982, early on the SCREAMING FOR VENGEANCE tour. This pro-shot, multi-camera gig may look a little dated by modern standards but otherwise looks and sounds great. There are a few little post-production visual tricks, screen warps and the like,  but it is pretty much a straight concert.

Priest had really embraced the studs ‘n leather look by this time and Halford is in his full S&M regalia, bull whip, handcuffs and all! A stripped-down stage means the band is the focus of this compact 90-minute concert.  Following the iconic opener of the ‘The Hellion/Electric Eye’ the band run through, what are now considered timeless classics. The band was brave enough to play seven of the ten songs on the new album!

LIVE VENGEANCE ’82 sees the British band in the early stages of conquering America, and a string of gold and platinum albums. It captures the energy and excitement of those exciting times.  If you missed out on the VHS the first time around, or want to upgrade to DVD, grab this!

Line Up:

Rob Halford-Vocals
Ian Hill-Bass
K.K. Downing-Guitar
Dave Holland-Drums
Glenn Tipton-Guitar

Track Listing:

1. The Hellion / Electric Eye
2. Riding on the Wind
3. Heading Out to the Highway
4. Metal Gods
5. Bloodstone
6. Breaking the Law
7. Sinner
8. Desert Plains
9. The Ripper
10. Diamonds and Rust
11. Devil’s Child
12. Screaming for Vengeance
13. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’
14. Victim of Changes
15. Living After Midnight
16. The Green Manalishi (With the Two-Pronged Crown) (Fleetwood Mac Cover)
17. Hell Bent for Leather