Goatwhore – Angels Hung From the Arches of Heaven

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: November 2022
Released: 2022, Metal Blade Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Demitri Levantis

For a quarter of a century, Louisiana blackened thrashers Goatwhore have been terrorising the world with some excellent tunes of satanism, anti-religion and tales of destruction and chaos. The latest album, Angels Hung From the Arches of Heaven is no different and it can be said that we have a band who have perfected their art in such a manner that another enjoyable tome of evil has been bestowed upon us.

Goatwhore’s eighth release doesn’t pull any punches in making the band’s anti-theistic agenda clear in its most brutal form, yet it is the delivery of said agenda that makes this album so enjoyable. If you’re a metalhead who loves precision blast beats or tunes that gallop and race like a motorcycle rally, these dudes from New Orleans have got you covered.

I think what the band set out to do is show strong opposition to the religious oppression they faced in the culture and everyday life that surrounds them in the deep south of the USA. It’s no surprise to me that a lot of these songs cover ideas of the apocalypse and the downfall of Christianity which America still has a huge problem with today.

What we have on our hands is an album composed by a group of men eager to express their brutal disgust at their country’s culture and promotion of religious oppression in the most fun way possible. It is always good to see a band being angry on all levels but when they mix it with some fun thrashy melodies and top it off with some black metal brutality, we have some of the finest American black metal that only a group of this ilk can produce. Another fun and brutal attack from the most vicious of metal genres.



1. Invocation 3
2. Born of Satan’s Flesh
3. The Bestowal of Abomination
4. Angels Hung from the Arches of Heaven
5. Death from Above
6. Ruinous Liturgy
7. Victory Is the Lightning of Destruction
8. Voracious Blood Fixation
9. The Devil’s Warlords
10. Weight of a Soulless Heart
11. Nihil
12. And I Was Delivered from the Wound of Perdition

Band line-up:

Sammy Duet – Guitars, vocals
L. Ben Falgoust II – Vocals
Zack Simmons – Drums
Trans Am – Bass

Band Websites: