Tomb of Minerva – Dawnbringer

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: July 2022
Released: 2022, self-released
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Demitri Levantis

California, like all other areas of the USA, has given the world a good deal of decent death metal over the last 30 or so years. Tomb of Minerva is one new band of this ilk who has emerged from the city of Sacramento, and their debut album: Dawnbringer has just dropped.

I use the phrase dropped because it was one which appeared promising at first glance but after a few songs, it didn’t seem quite the fun and brutal release I was expecting from this quartet. There is a good deal of philosophical, esoteric and deeply informed themes in the lyrics along with decent guitars and drums symbolising the band’s strengths – but there’s something missing from the mix.

Slow tempos and lo-fi production are very common in death metal but I feel for this band they were a bit of a betrayal. I think we are looking at a band who has potential, but given this is their debut album, they might still be finding their feet.

Tomb of Minerva is a band whom I see as one with all the right elements to make some brutally decent music but this first outing is only 75% of the way there. If they’d added some more oomph to the mix they would have made one very memorable album, but I think they still need to consult the drawing board in terms of structure and mix.

I bid them all the best for the future and hope they come up with something better next time. A decent debut but still plenty of dedication and agility required to get the band at full steam.



1. Nightfall
2. Perilous Shapes
3. Forsake the Flesh
4. Delirium Fields
5. Road to Ruin
6. Hymns of Dust
7. Decaying Sleep
8. Legion of the Frozen Suns
9. Strangulation Machine
10. Beyond the Shores
11. Sanctuary
12. Dawnbringer / Solaris

Band line-up:

Jacob Ball
Michael Niehaus
Jim Newman
Israel Stone Hawkins

Band Websites: