Watch MERCYFUL FATE Play New Song ‘The Jackal Of Salzburg’ Live For The First Time

Spread the metal:

MERCYFUL FATE played their first concert in 23 years Thursday night (June 2) at the Expo Plaza in Hannover, Germany as the support act for VOLBEAT. The band’s seven-song set included a brand new track, “The Jackal Of Salzburg”, which is expected to appear on MERCYFUL FATE’s upcoming studio album, tentatively due in 2023 via Metal Blade.

In introducing “The Jackal Of Salzburg”, frontman King Diamond told the crowd: “We have a brand new song we’d like to test on you. It’s not quite finished. We are lacking a verse and a little more. It’s not recorded yet. But let’s see if you like this. This is called ‘The Jackal Of Salzburg’.”

Joining King in MERCYFUL FATE’s current lineup are Hank Shermann on guitar, Bjarne T. Holm on drums, Mike Wead on guitar and Joey Vera on bass.

The setlist was as follows:

01. The Oath
02. The Jackal Of Salzburg (new song; live debut)
03. A Corpse Without Soul
04. Curse Of The Pharaohs
05. Evil
06. A Dangerous Meeting


07. Satan’s Fall

About EvilG 11412 Articles
Owner of