Motor Sister – Get Off

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: June 2022
Released: 2022, Metal Blade Records
Rating: 2/5
Reviewer: The Flâneur

Motor Sister are a supergroup comprising Anthrax’s Scott Ian on guitars, Armored Saint’s Joey Vera on bass, The Cult’s John Tempesta on drums, and Pearl Aday on backing vocals. Initially conceived as a Mother Superior cover band, they even have Mother Superior’s original vocalist Jim Wilson taking on as the band’s principal belter. Odd – a vocalist being in the cover band of his own band. Confusing too. Now, I’d have been more lenient about this album had Motor Sister been a bunch of dedicated newbies. However, they are anything but that, so fewer niceties will be spared ahead.

Get Off, Motor Sister’s second brainchild, is not a truly bad album. It’s definitely listenable and I did first listen to it while cleaning my flat. It does usually take me longer to complete this task than the album’s running time of 42 minutes, and yet it seemed like I could barely listen to the entire thing at once. Rather than spurring me on it made the once mechanic actions seem more and more tedious. Hook, line, and stinker.

Motor Sister’s genre of metier is indeed the one their name would suggest – that nebulous ‘dad rock’ amalgam of hard rock, classic rock, and heavy metal. And, by saying ‘dad rock’ I don’t want to insult any dads or those enjoying these genres. Only those few people who’d think this is the crème de la crème, the bee’s knee’s, the top of the pops (and whose aim in life is to date women who could be their [grand] daughters).

Get Off is really the kind of album you’d hear playing in-between the live sets of bands of a completely different genre and think: “man, how do they pick this stuff and why is it so unfitting?” I do enjoy the classic sound that Get Off combines with lyrics relying on contemporary concepts (Excuse Me, Your Life Is Exposed is a good example of this). But with an average length of only circa 3:30 minutes per song, by the eighth track out of twelve – Pain – I was already exhausted. I did think that was the best piece of the record – its only ballad, Pain shows off Jim Wilson’s vocal ability better than any other track there. And here, I’d like to throw another, possibly controversial, opinion: Pearl Aday should not be just a backing vocalist. She’s too good for this. Jim Wilson does not showcase his ability in Motor Sister as well as he did in Mother Superior. Giving Pearl more space to shine could really be the breath of fresh air Motor Sister need to really get where they want to be. Yes, Pearl is the sole vocalist in the titular Coming For You (and for a good measure) but this is not the case with the rest of the album.

I do genuinely think even fans of this type of music won’t be impressed. There is just so much of it around that a mediocre effort could hardly make a dent. And while Get Off is utterly listenable, it is simply a bore in large doses – it’s the drying wallpaper that will be painted over in a week’s time.



1. Can’t Get High Enough
2. Coming for You
3. Right There, Just Like That
4. Sooner or Later
5. Excuse Me, Your Life Is Exposed
6. Lion’s Den
7. 1,000,000 Miles
8. Pain
9. Bulletproof
10. Bruise It or Lose It
11. Time’s Up
12. Rolling Boy Blues

Band line-up:

Jim Wilson Guitars, vocals
Scott Ian – Guitars
Pearl Aday – Vocals
Joey Vera – Bass
John Tempesta – Drums