The Hellacopters – Eyes of Oblivion

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: May 2022
Released: 2022, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Demitri Levantis

The Hellacopters, one of Sweden’s most renowned garage rock bands have returned with album number eight: Eyes of Oblivion. One thing this album is sure to tell you is these guys haven’t fallen into any kind of oblivion music-wise – moreover, they’ve taken the oblivion the world has experienced over the last two years and set it to some of the most memorable rock tunes of recent years.

We open with a mix of traditional rock n roll that borders on punk with “Reap a Hurricane,” some blues/jazz elements on “So Sorry I Could Die,” with a well-placed piano, the title track which will have you humming along after the first chorus and a piece of proper rock n roll vibes on “Tin Foil Soldier” an attack on conspiracy theorists.

Overall, we see how these lads from Stockholm have made full use of the political and social awareness that has been commonplace in garage rock, punk and traditional rhythm and blues and brought it into the 2020s.

For many of us, the old ways are best which is what The Hellacopters have made clear. This is a record that will please anyone who loves reading about the bands who found fame at CBGB’s or made a career out of being stoned out of their minds.

Check out Eyes of Oblivion if you want to bolster the old school elements of your rock or punk collection or want more from Scandinavia to add to your audible palate.



1. Reap A Hurricane
2. Can It Wait
3. So Sorry I Could Die
4. Eyes Of Oblivion
5. A Plow And A Doctor
6. Positively Not Knowing
7. Tin Foil Soldier
8. Beguiled
9. The Pressure’s On
10. Try Me Tonight

Band line-up:

Nicke Andersson – Vocals, guitar
Matz Ronbert Eriksson – Drums
Anders Lindstrom – Guitars, piano, vocals
Dregen – Guitars
Dolf DeBorst – Bass, vocals

Band Websites: