Crashdiet – AUTOMATON

Spread the metal:

Crashdiet - AUTOMATONReviewed: May 2022
Released: April 2022, Golden Robot Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Buddy H

When you talk about certain genres of metal, there are bands that automatically come to mind and become instantly associated with particular moments in our proud music history. In our metal community, this can quickly become a very heated discussion. But I think there are some things we can all agree on. Black Sabbath are the fathers of metal. Yngwie is the godfather of all that is shred. Poison, and their played to the point of nausea mega-hit “Every Rose has Its Thorn,” opened the door for Grunge bands to drive 80’s metal to the brink of extinction. You get the point. The subgenre of hard rock/metal known as the “New Wave Of Swedish Sleaze” has captured my attention recently. If you ask anyone who the kings of Swedish Sleaze are, I can almost guarantee you that Crashdiet will be the answer. They are to Swedish Sleaze what Motley Crue were to the Sunset Strip Glam scene. A new Crashdiet release is an event. Well, the event is finally here in the form of their new release, AUTOMATON.

The music on AUTOMATON is exactly what you would expect from these genre definers. Riffs are front and center and are the foundation upon which all Crashdiet releases are built. This new album is absolutely overflowing with catchy, meaty, hook laden riffs that will stick in your mind for days! Add a consistent pounding rhythm section, soaring but slightly gritty vocals, song appropriate solos, and polish it off with magnificently clear production and you have one hell of a release!

After a brief intro, Crashdiet waste no time getting this riff party started with back-to-back-to-back gems. “Together Whatever” leads off and is a fantastic album opener. The chorus will camp out for a while in your brain, and you will catch yourself humming or singing it throughout the day! “Shine” is a mid-paced rocker that feels like it would fit nicely in the Scorpions catalogue! Next up is the galloping riffy anthem “No Man’s Land.” This is sure to be a staple in future live shows! The album continues on its riff tour de force with hook after hook and punch after punch. “Dead Crusade,” “Resurrection Of The Damned,” “Shell Shock” and “Unbroken” are outstanding back-half tracks that are sure to put a smile on your face!

The word “automaton” is defined as a machine that performs a function according to a predetermined set of coded instructions. This pretty much sums up Crashdiet. At this point in their career, they are a finely tuned melodic metallic riff machine on cruise control. This is the kind of album that should be played at maximum volume in the car cruising down the highway with the windows rolled down on a warm summer day! Definitely a top release of 2022 for me!


Track Listing:

  1. Automaton

  2. Together Whatever

  3. Shine

  4. No Man’s Land

  5. Darker Minds

  6. Dead Crusade

  7. Powerline

  8. Resurrection Of The Damned

  9. We Die Hard

  10. Shell Shock

  11. Unbroken

  12. I Can’t Move On (Without You)


Gabriel Keyes – Vocals
Martin Sweet – Guitars
Peter London – Bass
Eric Young – Drums