Suppression – The Sorrow of Soul Through Flesh

Spread the metal:
Suppression - The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh
Suppression – The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh

Reviewed: April, 2022
Released: 2022, Unspeakable Axe Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Simon Wiedemann

Suppression are a technical death metal band from Chile, who will be releasing their debut full length album ‘The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh’ on 25th April, through Unspeakable Axe Records. You will be able to get it on CD and digital formates. Vinyl releases will be available later this year through Dark Descent Records. It follows their 2019 EP ‘Repugnant Remains’, also released through UAR. The LP features members of thrash metal nutters ‘Ripper’ and it consists of 10 extreme, disgusting and thrashy tracks. 

Perhaps one of the most striking features of the music is the bass playing. It’s not the kind of stuff you’d expect to hear in a death metal band. I’m not saying the band are jazz metal or anything like that, it’s just the fretless bass playing has a very jazzy tone, especially when slides are utilised as they often are. The way it often has parts independent of the distorted electric guitars makes it stand out even more. It’s a very cool effect. I’m reminded of tech death bands like Cynic. Having said that, the rest of the instrumentation is fairly standard. You get plenty of wild speeds, frequent tempo changes and complex structures that bring to mind Cannibal Corpse, but the sound has been done. Not just by Cannibal Corpse, obviously, but many of their imitators. 

The outro of ‘Unperpetual Misery’ has a strangely dreamy feel with clean guitars and strange harmonies, and following track ‘Unwinding Harmonies’ continues in the same style for a while, but such experimentations come a little late, and are somewhat rare otherwise. Track ‘Arrowheads’ is a reasonably good acoustic guitar piece, but that doesn’t get much development at all, either. Sure the music is almost constantly exciting from its start to finish, but can’t it be exciting in a different way? 

To conclude, it’s cool how the bass guitar often gets so much attention and has parts that compliment the rest of the band nicely, and that alone makes the band notable. The guitar solos don’t SUCK, but they’re far from amazing and are a little on the scalic side. Think Yngwie Malmsteen, only he’s in a DM band and has only been playing for about a year or so. (That may sound bad to you, but practice 8 hours a day for a year, and you will get fairly decent). This album is recommended if you want to bang your head as hard as physically possible, but not if you want to do so in a more intelligent way. It’s just pretty good. 



01. Lifelessness
02. Overfeeding Gaps
03. Monochromatic Chambers
04. Unperpetual Misery
05. Unwinding Harmonies
06. Lost Eyes
07. Misunderstanding Reality
08. Self-Eaten Alive
09. Arrowheads
10. Extortion Behaviors

Band lineup:

Alejandro Cruz – Vocals
Pablo Cortes – Bass
Christopher Zapata – Drums
Daniel Poblete – Guitars