Haunted By Silhouettes – No Man Isle

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: April 2022
Released: 2022, Eclipse Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Kira Levine

Haunted By Silhouettes are a melodeath metal quintet from Trondheim, Norway. Their third EP No Man Isle is the follow-up to sophomore album The Last Day on Earth (2019). This is their first release since signing to Eclipse Records, due out on the 6th of May 2022.

Lasting less than thirty seconds, “Departure” arrives on No Man Isle, depicting a sense of adventure. “Flock” delivers the the first signs of melodic death metal with catchy riffs and lyrics that are as scathing as they sound. There are some atmospheric elements that come into play, adding variety and setting the scene.

Björn “Speed” Strid (Soilwork, The Night Flight Orchestra, Terror 2000) makes a guest appearance on middle track “Selkie”, introducing clean singing to the release and countering the death style vocals. The keys add a lot of feeling to the middle track, complementing lines like “Are you my phantom from the mainland? Here to taunt me, here to haunt me”.

Beginning with a strong rhythm section, “Icon” seems to emulate some of the melodies heard in the track before musically, tying the two together nicely. The electronic sounds give it a very futuristic vibe, contrasting well with the harsh vocals and often belligerent drumming style.

On the first listen, there is something a little Ghost-esque about the album closer’s intro (bell-like percussion and lyrics chanted in unison). The band are inspired by ‘Scandinavian melodic death metal’ and ‘the Gothenburg sound’, so perhaps it is just the influence Swedish heavy music has had on them showing. If title track “No Man Isle” could be paired up with any, it would be “Selkie” as they both incorporate clean singing with the growls that are present throughout the EP.

A very well-balanced release, showing the the heavier and softer side of what Haunted By Silhouettes has to offer in just over 15 minutes. For fans of Blodtørst, Deception (NO) and Sublime Eyes.



1. Departure
2. Flock
3. Selkie (feat. Björn “Speed” Strid)
4. Icon
5. No Man Isle

Band line-up:

Ola Nilsen Kjøren – bass
Håvard Bustad – drums
Per Kristian Grimsland – guitars
Stian Hoel Fossen – guitars
Mathias Jamtli Rye – vocals


Haunted By Silhouettes:
Eclipse Records




Eclipse Records:


Tik Tok