Wiegedood – There’s Always Blood at the End of the Road

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2022
Released: 2022, Century Media Records
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Demitri Levantis

Wiegedood, forerunners of the Belgian black metal community and some of the most intelligent music to grace the metal airwaves over the last decade, are back. This time with their fourth studio release, “There’s Always Blood at the End of the Road”, and the first not to be linked with the “De Doden Hebben Et Goed” trilogy of their first three releases.

Well, where do I begin? Wiegedood has always impressed me by making deep and thoughtful black metal which goes beyond the typical cliches of the genre and adds extra depth to the harshness and anguish an experienced band can put to the notes and chords of the genre.

And this release is no exception, from the moment you press play you are shot in the skull with a bombardment of precision blast beats, screams and wails like an army of skeletons freshly hewn from the grave by a ruthless necromancer, and the guitars grind and burn in a manner that makes the ears feel like they’re on fire.

Wiegedood has perfected a style of black metal that covers thought-provoking themes of death, anger and outright nihilism that has the listener shocked from start to finish and leaves you wanting more. There is more to this band than meets the eye and their face value is one of a band that know how to forge good metal.

Below that face is a backbone of well-versed lyrical themes which open the inner eyes and ears of the human psyche making us feel something deeper.

This is a band who can be enjoyed both by casual black metal lovers and by those who like to look deep into their music, and there will be more than enough blood at the end of all roads this band can lead you on, so you won’t be disappointed at all.



1. FN SCAR 16
2. And in Old Salamano’s Room, the Dog Whimpered Softly
3. Noblesse Oblige Richesse Oblige
4. Until It Is Not
5. Now Will Always Be
6. Wade
7. Nuages
8. Theft and Begging
9. Carousel

Band line-up:

Wim Sreppoc – Drums
Gilles Demolder – Guitars
Levy Seynaeve – Guitars, vocals

Band Websites: