Empyre Rock Club – Gates of Destruction

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: January, 2021
Released: 2021, Independent
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Cristóbal Torres

Empyre Rock Club is a band born in 2017 in the depths of the Philadelphia scene. The band offers a thrash sound with a lot of groove, this means that they don’t indulge in speed for free but they try to create an interesting rhythm in their songs. In fact, that is the first element that captures the ears when listening to their music.

At the end of 2020 Empyre Rock Club finished their debut album, which was released in mid-2021. The album is called: GATES OF DESTRUCTION, it includes eight songs where we witness a well-established band, with a clear intention of how they want sound and what kind of songs they want to compose.

One of the most striking features of the songs on this album is that they are very short, the longest barely lasting three and a half minutes, however, at no time is it a point against; on the contrary, it is surprising how well they managed to build very complete compositions in those time spans.

The sound quality is very good, especially if we take into account that the album is a work made by the same band, specifically John Hébert, who in addition to being the founder of the group is also the guitarist and vocalist. The level of the instruments is well balanced, as well as the recording quality. His work on the mix allows you to listen to all the songs without any problem.

The group is supposed to be working on a new release, with a view to playing live as soon as contingency allows. If they continue to work with this clarity and above all with the commitment to deliver something sincere, we will surely be facing a new album of great quality. GATES OF DESTRUCTION is a great testament to their sound.

John Hébert: Guitars, Vocals
Matt Rogozinski: Bass
Ralph Fleming: Guitars
Corey Gilmer: Drums

2. Phantom Limb
5. All or Nothing
7.And One