Me and That Man – New Man, New Songs, Same Shit Vol. 2

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: January 2022
Released: 2021, Napalm Record
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Demitri Levantis

Adam “Nergal” Darski has done many notable things in his life. Creating Poland’s most popular metal band and becoming something of a national celebrity are two big things, but now he has ventured into the realms of blues, soul, folk and some country music with side project: “Me and That Man”.

Having started the project with musician John Porter in 2017, Me and That Man have returned with their third album “New Man, New Songs, Same Shit Vol.2”, which is populated by cameos such as Abbath, Myrkur, David Vincent (Morbid Angel) and Michale Graves (Misfits).

Initially, I was not thinking much of this project when I put the album on, but it certainly grew on me as it progressed. I was quite taken aback by “Losing My Blues” which features Abbath for the vocals and memorable guitars, and David Vincent’s notable vocal range on “Year of the Snake”.

Having listened to a lot of side projects from metal musicians, I felt this was one that is executed well because Nergal and the others involved have all done their research and must have spent a long time and effort contributing to this piece. It was nothing like the god-awful attempt Quorthon made at grunge music in the 90s.

What makes this album stand out is the mix of bluegrass, dark Americana and pensive guitars which had me feeling a form of melancholia only this music can do. Speaking as someone who is not well versed in the genres, I think Nergal has done a good job at introducing his fans to it. People already see Behemoth as a gateway band into metal and now they’d say the same for country, blues and contemporary folk with this album.

Put this album on if you want to see metal musicians venturing into another musical realm which sounds wholly different to what made them famous but carries a lot of the elements that made you fall in love with them in the first place.



1. Black Hearse Cadillac feat. Hank Von Hell, Anders Odden
2. Under the Spell feat. Mary Goore
3. All Hope Has Gone feat. Blaze Bayley, Gary Holt, Jeff Mantas Dunn
4. Witches Don’t Fall in Love feat. Kristoffer Rygg
5. Losing My Blues feat. Olve Abbath Eikemo, Frank The Baptist, Chris Holmes
6. Coldest Day in Hell feat Ralf Gyllenhammar, Douglas Blair
7. Year of the Snake feat. David Vincent
8. Blues & Cocaine feat. Michale Graves
9. Silver Halide Echoes feat. Randy Blythe
10. Goodbye feat. Alissa White-Gluz, Devin Townsend
11. Angel of Light feat. Myrkur
12. Got Your Tongue feat. Chris Georgiadis

Band line-up:

Adam Nergal Darski – All Vocals & Instruments

Band Websites: