Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December, 2021
Released: 2021, Indie
Rating:  4.5 /5
Reviewer:  JP

Has it really been over a decade since Haiduk’s debut album, PLAGUESWEPT, swept over the land like a plague?   That sentence has even more meaning these days as we are about to enter Year three (as of time of writing) of the most recent global plague. At least we have a new Haiduk album to keep us pre-occupied.

There is this sort of amusing stereotype (partly true, partly fiction) of one-man Black Metal projects each individually created and run by a misanthropic troll living in his mom’s basement.  Having met Luka, founder of Haiduk, I can assure you this is not the case.

Productive and prolific Haiduk have just released their fifth album, DIABOLICA.  This is a project that found its signature sound very early on has not evolved. I don’t want them to. Accordingly, very little has changed in terms on style, tone and delivery.  The only noteworthy  change from the prior album is that DIABOLICA is a tiny faster.

The patented death/black/speed Metal rips your skull for 31 minutes  and then goes home with the feeling of a job well done.

Again there are minimal lyrics (with mostly one-word song titles) means this is about as minimalistic as you could get. HAIDUK is about a pure of a Metal project as you could wish for.  There are gimmicks, no costumes, no controversy, no novelty cover tunes,  just blazing Metal.

There are lots of these types of bands but Haiduk is one of my favourites bands in this style and once again, they deliver the goods with DIABOLICA.

Line up:

Luka (All)

Track Listing:

1. Corpse Crown
2. Swarm
3. Upheaval
4. Encirclement
5. Wraithavok
6. Cyclone
7. Ballista
8. Abyss Mage
9. Morph
10. Infernal
11. Sea of Fire