Disarmageddon – Detonator

Spread the metal:

Disarmageddon – Detonator
Reviewed: November 2021
Released: 2021, Bandcamp
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

Disarmageddon are were a Johannesburg based thrash band who recorded a set of tracks intended to be released on their debut, but split up before any of that actually happened. 5 of those tracks have recently been posthumously released as the DETONATOR EP, and holy crap, what a loss to the metal community.

With a sound and attitude that heavily leans on Anthrax circa-’85, DETONATOR is a tease of what could’ve been. Disarmageddon capture the essence and beauty of what classic thrash metal was during its nascent years and sound nothing at all like the modern retro thrash garbage that is somehow still in ample supply in 2021. The riffs are crisp, fast and pit ready, the gang chants are plentiful (check “Guerilla Tactics” and “Homeland Insecurity” as proof), and the tunes themselves are crafted with a real understanding of what made that era of metal so special. But the band also knows when to mix it up a little, as evidenced on the instrumental “Kamikaze.” Layered with melodic shred and moody harmonies, it’s arguably one of the best tracks on the album. And let’s talk for a moment about lead singer Jay Troski – dude is a dead ringer for a young Joey Belladonna – especially those SPREADING THE DISEASE high notes. Seriously, if/when things ever go sideways again in the Anthrax camp, Scott Ian needs to call this guy ASAP.

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve listened to DETONATOR, but every time I’m left with the thoughts of 1) “that was phenomenal” and 2) “I’m so bummed this band doesn’t exist anymore”. Hopefully Disarmageddon’s early demise is either a marketing ploy or a short term burial, because the metal world needs to hear more from these guys. DETONATOR is available via all of the usual digital outlets and is HIGHLY encouraged for fans of classic thrash metal.


Track List:
1. Homeland Insecurity
2. Warpath
3. Guerilla Tactics
4. Kamikaze
5. Detonator


Ashish Seetharam – Bass
Desmond Cook – Drums
Matthew Jordaan – Guitars
Lance Von Buddenbrock – Guitars
Jay Troskie – Vocals


, , ,