Antichrist Siege Machine – Purifying Blade

Spread the metal:

Antichrist Siege Machine – Purifying Blade
Reviewed: November 2021
Released: 2021, Profound Lore Records
Rating: 3/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

There’s just something about the raw, obnoxious absurdity of the whole war metal scene that’s oddly compelling. And not “war metal” like that Sabaton nonsense, but the kind of blackened war metal spearheaded by the likes of Blasphemy, Archgoat and Bestial Warlust. With trademarks of sounding unpolished and unholy, when it’s done right it can be almost trance inducing. And if their sophomore PURIFYING BLADE is any indicator, Virginia’s Antichrist Siege Machine will be another name synonymous with the scene.

PURIFYING BLADE is 30 minutes of unrelenting sonic torment that rivals Profanatica in terms of nuance (or lack thereof). Yet it has still been tearing through my speakers with regular intervals ever since the promo hit my inbox. Most of the album is full throttle lo-fi USBM, but the raucous volley of “Unleashed Hostility”, “The Inevitable Penalty” and the band’s namesake dirge supply a little diversity in the tempo and riff complexity. And somehow I think “Carried Into Darkness” and “Defiled In Iniquity” might be the same tune with alternating tempos?

PURIFYING BLADE is as equally deceptive in its charms as it is primitive in its approach. With 2 albums under their bullet belts, Antichrist Siege Machine have proven that what they mean business and are ready to make their mark on the metal scene’s blackened underbelly. Listen at your own risk.


Track List:
1. Intro – The Way of Cain
2. Carried into Darkness
3. Unleashed Hostility
4. Chaos Insignia
5. Led by Fire
6. Victorious Legions of Satan
7. Intro – That the Wicked Be Revealed
8. Defiled in Iniquity
9. (To Be Sooner) Broken by Pain
10. Antichrist Siege Machine
11. The Inevitable Penalty


S.B. – Drums, Vocals
Ryan Zell – Guitars