The Electric Mud – Black Wool

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: October, 2021
Released: 2021, Small Stone Records
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Erich

Robed alligator with candlesHere is an engaging smattering of retro stoner rock, riff-centric and Sabbath injected with liberal doses of southern Florida rock and metal mixed in. The Electric Mud hail from Ft. Meyers, Florida and BLACK WOOL is their follow-up EP to 2020’s second album, BURN THE SHIPS. BLACK WOOL offers two new tracks from the band and two worthy cover tunes from Corrosion of Conformity and The Allman Brothers Band. Recorded at Farmadelica Sound and mixed and mastered by Howard Wulkan, BLACK WOOL might be a product of modern recording technology, but it contains the heft, grit, and warmth of something older and more classic.

“Ordinary Men” is the first new original song, and it delivers in its catchy opening riff and Peter Kolter’s humid swamp vocals. There are no weak links here, as the rhythm section is simply pummeling and engaged. No simple holding down the fort here. Modern touches abound as well with tremolo picking, harmonized melody lines, and some tricky Mastodon-like riff changes. “Black Wool” is not as driving but is more progressive and jam oriented. It is easy to picture the band doing this live with extended solo trade-offs and in no hurry to finish.

Both cover tunes are lovingly treated, but of the two I prefer COC’s “Albatross.” The song seems to fit The Electric Mud’s own style almost perfectly. “Whipping Post” is still quite worthy and showcases the bands soloing skills and evident love of the blues, which perhaps does not come across as much on the two original songs on this EP as on their previous full lengths. All told, this is a nice stop gap until their next full-length album and further solidifies these guys as merchants of retro, but signed, sealed, and delivered with their own personal stamp. Fans of COC, Clutch, Buffalo Fuzz and Black Rainbows will definitely enjoy this direct and authentic helping of stoner riff rock.


Track Listing:

Electric Mud band1. Ordinary Men
2. Black Wool
3. Albatross (Corrosion of Conformity Cover)
4. Whipping Post (The Allman Brothers Band Cover)


Peter Kolter – Guitar, vocals
Constantine Grim – Guitar
Tommy Scott – Bass
Pierson Whicker – Drums