Anomaly – Planet Storm

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: October 2021
Released: 2021, self-released
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Demitri Levantis

Anomaly, all the way from Milwaukee, Wisconsin have released their debut studio album after a decade on the road. And with said album, they have certainly solidified themselves into the echelons of noteworthy 21st-century death metal with how they have put a journey through space to extreme music.

Planet Storm lifts the listener off the face of the earth quite literally with a soundbite detailing a blast off into the final frontier, before the hefty precision drums kick in and growled vocals that would best suit a poor space traveller who froze to death in space long ago. If you’re someone who loves the academic side of extreme metal, this is a band worth checking out as it’s more than just another sci-fi-driven act, with lyrics more influenced by actual physics and other astronomical scientific research than just fiction about space travel.

The band describe themselves as being like a ship heaving its way through the vastness of space, and I certainly felt this was the case given how these guys from Wisconsin took me to another planet on each track – all of whom are excellent for those who love death metal that doesn’t outstay its welcome.

Planet Storm is 39 minutes of bliss as you ride high and mighty along with the stars and cosmic dust clouds as the shrieks and wails of the band meld together like a newly welded space shuttle fresh off the production line. As someone who has always been intrigued by space, it is always fantastic to find a band that takes the best kind of music and makes it into something that personifies an experience you highly doubt to have in your lifetime.

Give Anomaly a shot if you want to know what it’s like to travel through space accompanied by the most extreme music only a bunch of science-loving guys from the Midwest can concoct.



1. Zero Gravity
2. A Gift from Theia
3. Lurking in the Bootes Void
4. Caught in the Ergosphere
5. Antares
6. Subterranean Worlds
7. Planet Storm
8. The Observable Universe
9. Remains of a Cosmic Catastrophe

Band line-up:

Neil Tidquist – Guitars, vocals
Mary Beers – Keyboards
John Ibarra – Guitars (rhythm)
Dave Norman – Drums

Band Websites: