Vancouver’s Rebel Priest Encourages Dark Obsessions With “Vulgar Romance” Off “Lost In Tokyo”

Spread the metal:

New EP “Lost In Tokyo” Out August 13th via Batcave Records

L-R – Jayme Black – Vocals/Bass, Nate Pole – Drums/Vocals, Benny Kemp – Guitars/Vocals

Hailing from Vancouver, Canada, Rebel Priest is the denim and leather-clad trio that has been whipping across stages and pushing out bangin’ albums since 2014. This year they are putting out a new EP called “Lost In Tokyo”, which will be available on August 13th via Batcave Records.

As the name of the EP hints, most of these tracks were written in Japan in 2019 before the closure, the band has been sitting on them for a year, and the time is finally right for them to come out. The third single off this record is “Vulgar Romance”, a dark groover about people’s interests in serial killers and trying to see behind the mind of the hunter. The band explains the track in more depth:

“This song came across with our interest in other people’s interest in serial killers and what would happen if someone took fandom too far or they actually got to see in the eyes behind the mind. It’s a commentary on what people’s hungers are and the deprivation that one can get if they take their interest to the next level. It’s a bittersweet take on a dark topic, we tried to capture the atmosphere with more of a swing to the song as if you were stalking down the street.”

“Vulgar Romance” can be heard at 

In their infancy Rebel Priest started out making a lot of different genres, seeing what they liked, what would mesh, and testing all the styles they liked to see what they could pull off. As of now, the experimentation phase is over, they have focused on rock n’ roll because it’s the most natural thing for them, it comes out easily and they don’t have to think about it, however, this could evolve in the future.

If this four-track EP isn’t enough for the fans out there, don’t fret, Rebel Priest ensures that they aren’t slowing down and they will have more coming out throughout the rest of the year, LIKE A FREIGHT TRAIN!

Rebel Priest is bringing the rock and recommended for fans of Rose Tattoo, Deep Purple, and LA Guns.

The EP releases on August 13, 2021 via Batcave Records on the following platforms:

Batcave Records Online StoreRebelpriest.bandcamp.comSpotifyApple Music.

Previous singles:
“Lost In Tokyo” –
“Back Alley Blues” –

Upcoming Show Dates:
Sept 4 – Maple Ridge, BC – The Wolf Bar – info

Track Listing:
1. Lost In Tokyo (3:29)
2. Back Alley Blues (3:03)
3. Vulgar Romance (4:15)
4. When The Whip Comes Down (4:33) (Slash Puppet Cover)
EP Length: 15:25

EP Recording Credits:
• All songs performed by: Rebel Priest
• All songs written by: Rebel Priest *except “When The Whip Comes Down”, Music: Slash Puppet, Lyrics: Mif
• Produced by: Rene D La Muerte
• Mixed by: Rene D La Muerte
• Mastered by: Rene D La Muerte
• Album Artwork by: Nate Pole
• Member of SOCAN
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

EP and Live Band Line Up:
Jayme Black – Vocals/Bass
Benny Kemp – Guitars/Vocals
Nate Pole – Drums/Vocals

For more info:

About EvilG

Owner of
View all posts by EvilG →