DAMN FREAKS Return With ‘Love In Stereo’

Spread the metal:

A “good ol’ party time rock’n’roll” band, that’s what Damn Freaks wanted to be from the start. Their debut album released in 2017 set the path, the new album ‘Love in Stereo’ will prove their undeniable talent. “We all wanted to capture the vibe that we loved way back in the ’80 when we were listening all day to White Lion, Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, Dokken and David Lee Roth” – reckons Iacopo – “it seems like people have completely forgot that music can also be the soundtrack of your happiest and laid back moments”. Songs such as the opener ’Love Under Fire’ or the powerful ‘Bullets For U’ need to be listened at maximum volume when driving in your car while stuck in everyday traffic, to make you feel the positive vibe of r’n’r.

Matteo has no doubt about it when he says: “We consider ourselves the freaks of the third millennium, as we still want to try to have a good time and music is the perfect and 100% legal drug so, yes, we are freaks, we are DAMN FREAKS and we will help you having a good time”. It’s this state of mind that contributes to the writing of songs like the ‘Game Over’ and their latest single ‘Life’s Too Short To Feel Old’. ‘Love In Stereo’ is the antidote to all the uncertainties of these strange times as it will take you back in time when music was the soundtrack of your happiest and most crazy moments.

Based in Florence, Italy, Damn Freaks got back together drummer Matteo Panichi and lead singer Iacopo “Jack” Meille who had been playing in early 2000 in a band called FOOLS’ MOON. The band released and album way back in 2004 called ‘Beyond The Sky’ just a few months before Jack auditioned for NWOBHM legends Tygers of Pan Tang and joined the band. They kept in contact and when Matteo started writing and recording some backing tracks with guitarist Marco Torri and Claudio Rogai on bass, he decided to check if he would be interested on working on the song they were recording. It was 2015 and that was the beginning of Damn Freaks. They recorded 9 songs and released their debut album in 2017 through Mighty Music, the Danish record label Tygers are also signed to. Their single ‘Break The Chains’ got some airplay, and the reviews of the album were good, leading the way to consider a “side project” more as a band.

Damn Freaks played a number of gigs in Italy, but during all 2018 and most part of 2019, Jack’s commitments to Tygers couldn’t allow the band to play live as much as they wanted. Yet they all felt the need to start writing new material and decided to start doing it “the old way” which meant the four of them in a rehearsal room in the Tuscany country side bouncing ideas and jamming together. All the 11 songs were written and conceived as a four piece with very little extra to be added in order to keep the rawness of the live sound in the recordings.

Within a couple of months they had 11 songs ready and they opted to record the backing tracks live adding just a few overdubs before letting singer Jack laying down his melodies. The album was recorded and mixed in Florence at Ka-pow Studios in Febraury 2020 just before the pandemic and was mastered in March by Harry Hess from Harem Scarem at H-Bomb Studio in Toronto, Canada.

Before it’s release on October 23rd, Volcano Records has released three singles: ‘Bullets For U’, ‘Game Over’ and ‘Life’s Too Short To Feel Old’.

CD Track List:
1. Love Under Fire
2. I’m Not your Enemy
3. Bullets For U
4. Requiem
5. Scream & Shout
6. Life’s Too Short To Feel Old
7. Game Over
8. Cry For Love
9. Austin, Texas
10. Kiss My Ass
11. Stranger To Your Touch


Band Line-Up:
Matteo Panichi – drums
Marco Torri – electric and acoustic guitars
Iacopo “Jack” Meille – lead and backing vocals
Claudio Rogai – bass