Bottomless – Bottomless

Spread the metal:

BOTTOMLESSReviewed: August 2021
Released: 2021, Spikerot Records
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Kat Knite

Italian doom metal trio Bottomless are a sweltering and hazy heat wave rolling over a mysterious desert of sound with their brand new self-titled release, unleashed in 2021 to set fire to your senses and stir your mind with feverish hallucinations. Riding the waves of Doom Metal royalty such as Black Sabbath, Saint Vitus, Pentagram, Trouble and The Obsessed, the group features solid and seasoned musicians who shared a vision of an unyielding, timeless sound to share with the world and followed it through to realisation.

Giorgio Trombino (who channels a timeless grit and flow with this vocals and guitar) and David Lucido (holding it down hot and heavy on drums) played together previously in Assumption, Undead Creep, Haemophagus, Morbo and more. Tying the three together is Sara Bianchin who played in Messa and Restos Humanos, with a tight and authentic bass style that is sure to shake the house down.

Equal parts unrelenting and enticing, the sounds of this record are hard to listen to without developing a strong and sudden urge to pack your bag, get behind the wheel of some retro convertible (or enchanted and opulent carriage), and hit the long road to the desert – possibly for good. Opening track ‘Monastery’ definitely plays off Black Sabbath vibes, capturing that late 70’s feel with sexy twin guitars and big room vocals from Trombino, who at times tinges his tonalities with Layne Staley-esque (Alice in Chains) twists and turns. However, while the Alice in Chains comparisons have had no shortage, Trombino‘s most powerful influence has been Scott Reagers of Saint Vitus, a band whose work holds great meaning for the members of Bottomless. Luckily, I’m a sucker for both twin leads and all the moody doom there is to offer because we get to hear all this and more as the tracks roll on.

‘Centuries Asleep’ is a sultry wind blowing through the sand, a force to be reckoned with, and frankly just a taste of what the trio is capable of. Giving another delicious taste of grunge and sludge mixed into the classic feel, title track ‘Bottomless’ weaves in and out of delirium with rhythmic changes and a stunning harmonic minor guitar solo. Now, we’ve driven headfirst into the heatwave, and just as we have time to catch our breath, ‘Ash’ comes to take it away with a slow bass broken in by addictively spacey drums, topped with a heavy breakdown that somehow captures a feeling I can’t quite get enough of. If you’re a fan of Zakk Wylde (Black Label Society) you’ll be pleased to know that Bottomless takes some notes from that realm, soaring like a motorcycle on wings down an ancient highway in songs like ‘Vestige’ and final number ‘Hell Vacation’. Truthfully, I finished the record feeling liberated and longing for a journey, perhaps at the end of which I’d end up at some middle-of-nowhere, can’t-tell-if-it’s-a-dream-or-reality venue with a cold drink in my hand, a magically bottomless elixir to ease the intensity of the torrid wilderness, Bottomless taking the stage to bring me full circle again.



1. Monastery
2. Centuries Asleep
3. Bottomless
4. The Talking Mask
5. Ash
6. Losing Shape
7. Loveless Reign
8. Vestige
9. Cradling Obsession
10. Hell Vacation (CD BONUS TRACK)

Band line-up:

Giorgio Trombino – Guitars/Vocals
Sara Bianchin – Bass
David Lucido – Drums