A Metal-Rules.com Premiere: Screaming Shadows “Free Me” (From The Vaults)

Screaming Shadows
Spread the metal:

Francesco Marras (Tygers Of Pan Tang new guitar player) is back with his band and a new album. “Free Me” is the first single/video from the album… Pure heavy/power metal with a big chorus and superb musicianship.

Heavy/power metal traditions are strong in Italy, so it’s no wonder that, when guitar local virtuoso Francesco Marras formed his own band in 1997, the chosen genre was the most obvious. Now, two decades and a half later, SCREAMING SHADOWS is one of the most established names in the heavy/power metal European scene. “Free Me”, the first song and video from the upcoming album of the band, foreshows what makes Screaming Shadows such a fantastic offering: a perfect mixture of classic heavy metal, melodic power metal, solid technical arguments, and punchy production.

After morphing the band into different line-ups and names, Screaming Shadows was established as an entity in 1999 by Francesco Marras. All the band needed was a demo-tape and a mini-CD before going to self-produce “Behind The Mask”, their debut album that quickly caught the attention of the heavy/power metal scene.

The following year brought two more albums for Screaming Shadows (“In The Name Of God” in 2006 and “New Era Of Shadows” in 2009, both released on My Graveyard Productions), before the band step up and sign to Jolly Roger Records. The following album, “Night Keeper”, released in 2011, featured a plethora of notorious guests, including Alessandro Del Vecchio (Edge Of Forever, Silent Force), Mattia Stancioiu (Crown Of Autumn), and Pier Gonella (Necrodeath), among others.

The following years were spent by Marras developing other projects, including his participation in the international project Verde Lauro, and also filling the shoes as the new guitar player of NWOBHM legends, Tygers Of Pan Tang. But now the wait is over and Screaming Shadows are back with a new album, “Legacy Of Stone”, to be released in the Winter via From The Vaults, from which they recently signed.

“Legacy Of Stone” was released in digital, LP, and CD formats by Mighty Music on 12th November 2021.

Line up:

Francesco Marras: guitars

Alessandro Marras: vocals

Michele Sanna: drums

Jürgen Steinmetz: bass




Official site





About EvilG 11579 Articles
Owner of Metal-Rules.com