Colossus – Degenesis

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2021
Released: 2021, Comatose Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Kira Levine

Illinois-based death metal trio Colossus (featuring members of Lividity, Cryptic Fog and Cereviscera) ring in the new year with upcoming debut album, Degenesis.

A statement from the band on the release:

“They watch from the distant, endless darkness, from the cold void beyond the North Star – and their patience is exhausted. The slate must be wiped clean. The human experiment has failed; decaying and deteriorating into a seething mass of spite and infection, a virulent, mindless poison. The call will go out, speeding through the timeless constellations to the deep places of the earth, the stygian chambers where it has waited since the beginning – the world eater, the re-set button, the bringer of rebirth through utter destruction…the Colossus!”

After an ethereal introduction, “Becoming All Forms” greets listeners with the break neck speeds of the band’s brutal tech approach. Chavez and Klein’s vocals are as heavy and crushing as the instrumentation, and seem to effortlessly keep up with the tempo.

Next up is “Iniquitous Macrocosm”, which wastes no time with its blisteringly rapid intro. Each song contains a contrasting outro, with elements such as skits and otherworldly atmospheric sounds.

Abysmal Tectonic Tyrants” is exactly as earth-shattering as the title suggests. For a song less than three minutes long, it manages to feature some twists and turns that create exciting moments.

Middle track “Malignant Eye of Inexorable Ruin” displays a new layer of complex brutality within Colossus’ music, the drums domineering as the backbone under Young’s racing riffs.

Violent Ichor of Primordial Ascension” is not the speediest on Degenesis, but the performance from the rhythm section more than makes up for this.

A seamless transition into “Spiteful Obliteration of an Obsolete…” showcases some layered vocals that add to the other-worldly vibe the album carries.

The album really comes together on “Degenesis”, rightly so as it is not only the title track, but the album closer. This final chapter is far more instrumental than the six before, with the occasional spoken word snippets here and there adding flashes of human emotion over the often eerie melodies.

In just over 25 minutes, Colossus have managed to depict mankind’s descent into the jaws of an alien creature, through the medium of technical brutal death metal. For fans of Aenimus, Deeds Of Flesh, Defeated Sanity and First Fragment.

Degenesis’ official release is set for February 5th via Comatose Music, and is available for pre-order via the label’s Bandcamp here.



1. Becoming All Forms
2. Iniquitous Macrocosm
3. Abysmal Tectonic Tyrants
4. Malignant Eye of Inexorable Ruin
5. Violent Ichor of Primordial Ascension
6. Spiteful Obliteration of an Obsolete…
7. Degenesis

Band line-up:

Von Young – guitars
Dan Klein – drums, vocals
Steven Chavez – bass, vocals


Colossus online

Comatose Music


Imperative PR: