Valvera – Cycle Of Disaster

Spread the metal:

Review Date: October 2020
Released: 2020, Brutal Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: RC2000

Hailing from Sao Paulo, Brazil, thrashers Valvera have released their debut album CYCLE OF DISASTER. Right away it sounds like these guys have been playing for a while; the skill level here isn’t your average debut from a band.

The opening track “Nothing Left To Burn” really showcases what the band is all about. There’s a pummeling drum melody backed up with a strong bass line, and some creative guitar solos.  If you’re a fan of double-bass drumming and multiple structure changes within songs then these guys have you covered.

The press release included a really bizarre description of the vocal delivery. I thought about including it here so that you could make your own interpretation of it, but decided against it; I think it’s more of a translation issue from the band’s native Portuguese. I’d sum it up by saying vocalist/guitarist Glauber Barreto has a style similar to that of Perseverance-era Jamey Jasta – a ‘shout’ kind of delivery. The two sound nothing alike, however, and there are no motivational, self-help lyrics to be found here. The title track “Cycle of Disaster” is a good example.

“Glow of Death” is an interesting track about a real-life manmade catastrophe. Apparently in the Brazilian city of Goiania some hospital equipment containing radioactive material was abandoned, and local scrappers taking the machine apart unknowingly caused a disaster. I don’t remember hearing about that in the U.S., but of course that was the pre-internet age. The theme of the song fits right in with the content of the album.

Cycle of Disaster is a very solid release, recommended for those who like their thrash with a little Lamb of God and Hatebreed mixed in for brutality.


Track Listing:

  1. Nothing Left To Burn

  2. Cycle Of Disaster

  3. Glow Of Death

  4. The Damn Colony

  5. All Systems Fall

  6. Born On A Dead Planet

  7. O.S. 1977

  8. Fight For Your Life

  9. Bringer Of Evil


Glauber Barreto (vocals/guitar)
Rodrigo Torres (guitar)
Gabriel Prado (bass)
Leandro Peixoto (drums)