Raven – Metal City

Spread the metal:

October 2020
September 18th, 2020 / Steamhammer
Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine


There is no denying the influence and impact Raven’s early albums had on the hard rock and metal community in the ’80s. Early ’80’s that is. Raven was right up there as one of my favorite bands. That is until the 1985 release of STAY HARD. That was one of those WTF albums. And then came THE PACK IS BACK the next year that did not hold up too well for me. What a long time ago, that was. Ugh, getting old sucks.

In the past few years, I have heard a track or two from Raven and always wanted to grab a current release. It never happened until now. Better late than never, I guess. METAL CITY is Raven’s 13th full-length album. And I must say, it sort of kicks ass!

They still have a blend of NWOBHM mixed with that old-school speed metal flair as right from the get-go here; this album comes at you full force with “The Power.” It is a track that sets the stage for the rest of the album. It does remind me of some of their early stuff that I liked so much back in the day.

All of the songs are hard and heavy with a drive to them. You know the type of music that you can feel down in your gut. John Gallagher’s vocals are top-notch on this album. The years have been good to him. The riffs, though, are front and center. Mark produces some very memorable guitar parts, and the solos rip from start to finish. The sound of METAL CITY is as relevant as any metal album being put out these days. I am glad that Raven is still ripping it up.

1. The Power
2. Top of the Mountain
3. Human Race
4. Metal City
5. Battlescarred
6. Cybertron
7. Motorheadin’
8. Not So Easy
9. Break
10. When Worlds Collide

John Gallagher – Vocals, Bass
Mark Gallagher – Guitars
Mike Heller – Drums



, ,