Manticora – To Live To Kill To Live

Spread the metal:

September 2020
August 28th, 2020 / ViciSolum Productions
Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

The mighty Manticora are back with their second conceptual installment of Lars F. Larsen’s horror novel to which is the title of the band’s last effort, TO KILL TO LIVE TO KILL. I do believe this is much more of a continuation of the story line to which I am only familiar with the album’s lyrics and not the very well-received novel. I try to read more, but only as time permits, so there has not been a chance arise for me to grab a copy and sit my ass put for a few days to embrace the story entirely.

For those who know, Manticora did start off as more of a heavy thrash band before their transition to a more progressive, power metal blend. The band has always had the heavier elements of their roots intertwined into their signature sound that has made the band a powerhouse in the world of metal. As I say this, it is a wonder the band is not as big as they should be.

One thing I have always enjoyed about Manticora’s music is that it is as if you have yourself a thrash metal version of Blind Guardian. Simply put, this is one of the best ways to describe the sound of their music. Especially prominent on TO LIVE TO KILL TO LIVE then ever before. Well, to my recollection, at least, so there could very well be a flaw there.

Epic is also a word that goes hand in hand here as the album opener is a majestic swath of prog/power and thrash all bundled up in a little 14:39 time frame. It indeed sets the stage for the rest of the album. Thank you, guys. Thank you for yet another great album of epic proportions.

1. Katana – The Moths and the Dragonflies / Katana – Mud
2. To Nanjing
3. The Farmer’s Tale, Pt. 3 – Eaten by the Beasts
4. Slaughter in the Desert Room
5. Through the Eyes of the Killer – Filing Teeth
6. Katana – Death of the Meaning of Life
7. Tasered / Ice Cage
8. Goodbye Tina
9. Tasered / Removal
10. Stalin Strikes
11. Ten Thousand Cold Nights
12. Katana – Beheaded


Kristian Larsen – Guitars
Lars F. Larsen – Vocals
Kasper Gram – Bass
Stefan Johansson – Guitars
Lawrence Dinamarca – Drums


, , , ,