Dreams of Avalon – Beyond the Dream

Dreams of Avalon - Beyond the DreamReviewed: August, 2020
Released: 2020, Metalville
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Cristóbal Torres

Taking advantage of the break that the band Astral Doors has decided to take, its guitarist, Joachim Nordlund, decided to compose pieces a bit far from what he usually plays in the band. The result is his first solo album: BEYOND THE DREAM, under the project: Dreams of Avalon.

This album is a great example of a close relationship between a musician and his craft. Joachim Norlund has proven to have a very deep knowledge of a particular style combining its elements with great success. The most interesting thing is that it does it without looking like a kitchen recipe. His songs sound very fluid and natural. That is the perfect proof that Norlund is a musician who masters the elements of musical language and uses them to express himself.

Apart from music, BEYOND THE DREAM is a very interesting look into Norlund’s mind. Some lyrics come from personal experiences and some others are great statements about getting older but keeping the same sacred fire from the early days. It is very easy to identify and empathize with the lyrics. On that level the album also works very well.

Tony Josefsson was planned to be the lead singer for this album, however Norlund ended up singing so this is a truly authorship work in every sense of the word. BEYOND THE DREAM is a good legacy to the melodic sound that has always existed in the Swedish scene, not only in heavy metal but in popular music in general, even reaching the mainstream. It was a good idea for Astral Doors to establish a break, otherwise this album would not have seen the light with the energy and naturalness that emanates in each one of their songs.


Track Listing:

  1. Young Wild Hearts

  2. Under The Gun

  3. Shining Light

  4. Bleed For Me

  5. Run For Cover

  6. Into The Night

  7. On The Run

  8. To Paris And Back

  9. Stop

  10. Black Demons

  11. Somewhere Tonight

Dreams of AvalonLineup:

Joachim Nordlund: lead and background vocals, guitars, keyboards and bass.

Sven Danielsson: drums and percussions.

Joakim “Mohican Joe” Roberg: keyboards on songs 1, 4, 10 and 11.

The Norton Brothers: background vocals and loud screams.

Websites:  www.metalville.de | www.facebook.com/dreamsofavalonsweden

Please follow and like us: