Dee Snider – For The Love Of Metal LIVE

Spread the metal:

September 2020
July 31st, 2020 / Napalm Records
Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Dee Snider needs no introduction in the world of heavy metal or hard rock. If, by now, you do not know the man himself or his contributions to hard rock/heavy metal, you need to have that part of your lobotomized brain replaced.

Now I am not saying everybody who listens to hard music needs to like him or what Twisted Sister has done over the years. Still, mad respect is given to Dee as he is responsible for some of the most memorable anthems in the genre over the past 40 years. I have been a fan since early on. Having said this, I have not and still do not love everything Dee has done in his career. The good surely outweighs the not so good overwhelmingly so.

Now I must confess, the first listen of the CD part of this package was with a bit of doubt. Vocally, Dee is still as superb as ever as he proved on FOR THE LOVE OF METAL, but it did at first listen sound as if his voice is a bit tired out there. Now, after viewing the DVD and rolling through the disc a time or five, damn, he still belt out the lyrics like back in ’84.

As you can scroll down and see the tracklisting, the show starts with a couple of new tracks from FOR THE LOVE OF METAL before heading into the Twisted Sister era of his career. He does the right mix of solo and Twisted material for his live performances here. As well-received as his latest solo effort was, I am glad these tracks are included in the set, and the shows are not only a Twisted Sister covers show.

The video portion seems to be primarily based on the Bloodstock Open Air Festival in the U.K. I do believe to actual tracks are from that show as well. Now when I say primarily, I mean that as it has been heavily edited with other performances from the tour. Shows from Spain, Sweden, Australia, Switzerland, The Czech Republic, and Sturgis in the U.S.A. However, this does not take away from the visual portion of the release.

There are plenty of extras throughout the main menu, as well as between each track of the line-up. So really, you will not be watching just a mix of live performances. Still, you get a bit of history, interview snippets, and just plain craziness throughout the entire viewing experience.

Dee Snider is a true ambassador to the metal community. Like it (him) or not, he is. And his music reflects a passion, not many possess. From the past, present, and possibly even the future. A shout out needs to go out to Jamey Jasta here. Be it not for him lighting the way for Mr. Snider’s FOR THE LOVE OF METAL, who knows what direction things may have gone. And another to the stellar band backing this release.

Fingers crossed that there are still many more years to come out of Dee Snider as he says it best from the third track to the track “For The Love Of Metal,” “You Can’t Stop Rock’ N’ Roll”!

1. Lies Are a Business
2. Tomorrow’s No Concern
3. You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll (Twisted Sister cover)
4. The Beast (Twisted Sister cover)
5. American Made
6. Under the Blade (Twisted Sister cover)
7. The Kids Are Back (Twisted Sister cover)
8. Become the Storm
9. We’re Not Gonna Take It (Twisted Sister cover)
10. I Am the Hurricane
11. Burn in Hell (Twisted Sister cover)
12. I Wanna Rock (Twisted Sister cover)
13. For the Love of Metal
14. Highway to Hell (AC/DC cover)
15. Prove Me Wrong (New Studio Single)

Dee Snider – Vocals
Russell Pzütto – Bass
Nick Bellmore – Drums
Charlie Bellmore – Guitars
Nick “Taz” Petrino – Guitars