From The Depth – Moments

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: August, 2020
Released: 2020, Rockshot Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Pete Mutant

Italian power metallers From The Depth have brought the band back after a bit of a gap since their last recorded effort, 2014’s EP ‘Perserverance’. There’s a few new faces to the lineup which now is purported to be stable after going through several such changes since their formation in 2008. Only vocalist Raffaele “Raffo” Albanese and drummer Cristiano Battini remain as the original base that launched this project and this album ‘Moments’ has a lot to do with the band members’ own moments in life and the band’s journey.

When we talk about power metal, in my estimations, one question arises which I’ll tie into this band:

Q: How do you eat Parma ham?
A: With a big slice of cheese on the sides.

Terrible I know, but to me power metal is a big old bag of cheesy metal music and there’s not much quite like it outside of metal. The roaring riffs and dancing keyboards that drive the music with soaring high pitched vocals are so camp and enigmatic that’s like an opera with guitars and double kicks performed by dudes in tight denim and leather. It’s not my cup of tea for many reasons but I can still appreciate the spectacle of it all.

We get fired right in from the start with ‘Immortal’ and the first minute alone captures the heart of this band and displays a lot of their musical prowess. The levels are very well balanced and the mix is pretty solid throughout as well, so no components are lost. I must say that the guitar work from Alessandro Cattani is very respectable in many ways. The riffs are strong and the leadwork can be excellent at times.There are also plenty of clean moments that the band implements throughout passages during many songs throughout the album. The instrumental on track five, ‘Hypnos’, brings a more sombre feel which brings the album down a few pegs in terms of velocity and this carries on a bit through the next couple of tracks.

It’s an atmospheric switch that changes the dynamic of the album at the halfway point which doesn’t really get back to the boisterous opening of the album, however, there’s plenty of tempo at points. ‘Missed’ brings things back to a more upbeat feeling and has a great duel section between guitarist Alessandro Cattani and keyboardist Andrea De Paoli. Can’t have a power metal album with out an instrumental battle to fight, or to sing about some figurative battle…if not an actual battle itself.

From The Depth have hired the best for the job and have constructed a fine example of what I’d expect a power metal to be. There are so many compliments that I could make towards how professionally the album is done in terms of production and musicality. Each component whilst being very individualistic is mixed excellently and potently so that this album really has defined character that is symbiotic to each member’s input. Excellent vocals, excellent guitar work, excellent drums and some excellent keyboards and bass to boot. ‘Moments’ may not be my type of music but I can appreciate a lot of it. This is one for those power metal fans out there so give it a listen and it may just become the back track to important moments in your life.



1. Immortal (4:55)
2. Spread Your Fire (4:55)
3. Ten Years (5:09)
4. Streets of Memory (4:20)
5. Hypnos (1:51)
6. Forget and Survive (4:48)
7. Just Ice (7:46)
8. Missed (4:51)
9. A Matter of Time (5:47)
10. Somewhere (4:22)

Band line-up:

Vocals: Raffaele “Raffo” Albanese
Bass: Santo Clemenzi
Guitars: Alessandro Cattani
Guitars: Raffaele “Raffo” Albanese (on “Streets of Memory”)
Drums: Cristiano Battini


Davide Castro: (on “Somewhere”, “Streets of Memory”, “Spread Your Fire”, “A Matter of Time”, “Ten Years” ending theme, “Immortal” cinematic break)
Andrea De Paoli: (on “Ten Years”, “Forget and Survive”, “Missed”, “A Matter of Time”)
Oreste Giacomini: (on “Immortal”)

Band Websites: