Entartung – Maleficae Artes

Spread the metal:
ENTARTUNG – Maleficae Artes

Reviewed: August 2020
Released: August 7th 2020, Dunkelheit Produktionen
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Annalisa Orlando

This German black metal trio deliver a classic record. The combination of high-pitched vocals and extraordinarily long tracks all hark back to the 90’s heyday of black metal.

Having said that, the clean and tidy production is probably the only modernity permitted in this album, and everything does sound crisp and artfully composed. Something of a departure of a departure from the days of black metal cassettes, recorded in the grainiest of analogues. The mix of tempos, as well as the mix of screams and whispered vocals create a good, varied landscape of sound. The lyrics are interesting and eloquent, with a mix of German and English, spinning tales of Faustian spirits, occult happenings and the darker chapters of human history.

The raw and fast-paced drop beats make a pleasing contrast against the occasional synth and acoustic interval here and there. These break up the tracks which otherwise seem to bleed into each other. This would be a great album to listen to in one go, as it is well framed as a singular piece of music, rather than a collection of individual songs.

The record kicks off with “Tower of Silence”, an intense, aggressive track, spattered with, complex, fast-paced, drums. “Bortförd” opens with a hypnotic, hollow introduction, with some unusually clean vocals, a good example to the band’s ability to use variation to exult their music. “Circle of Suffering” has a more magnanimous and ritualistic tone. “Aufruhr MDXXV” is one of the longest tracks in the album, a total of twelve minutes, which is impressive in itself, and really allows the listener to lose themselves in the intense wall of sound created by screeching guitars.

Overall a really concrete black metal album, with a little something extra. Brutal in the right moments and soft in others, there will be plenty of music for fans of the genre to sink their teeth into.




1. Tower Of Silence
2. Bortförd
3. Un Ciel Bourbeux Et Noir
4. Circle Of Suffering
5. Aufruhr MDXXV

Band line-up:

Haistulf – Drums
Lykormas – Guitar, backing vocals, keyboard
Vulfolaic – Vocals, bass, keyboard

Band Websites:

Our Website
Our Shop