Moonlight Haze – Lunaris

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: July 2020
Released: 12th June 2020, Scarlet Records
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Andrew Shirley

Moonlight Haze have released their sophomore record through fellow Italian label Scarlet Records and they are every part of their opening description details. Symphonic power metal is the name of their game and it’s something they are clearly very good at.

Opener “Till The End” is every part the victorious sound that purveys power metal as a genre: galloping rhythms, arm-raising chorus and a triumphant ending, all ticked boxes and I’m thankful for it. Follow up track and lead single “The Rabbit Of The Moon” follows as a perfect accompaniment to a great start. The mid-pace complements the full ahead roar of the previous song, but the title track “Lunaris” up next steals the former’s thunder. It opens with a medieval-style harping, which quickly subsides into what you could call another breath of fresh air into the Power metal and symphonic genres.

I often find that bands with powerhouse vocalists feel the need to show off their talent on every track, to a frustrating degree. Chiara is thankfully not one of these vocalists. Don’t get it twisted, she can belt it out like any of the talented people in other such symphonic acts, it’s just not needed for them. They have confidence in this art and performance that shines through without feeling like it’s there just because they can. It’s used as an extenuation because it was needed to bring something else out in the track.

The album was mixed and mastered by Simone Mularoni at the Domination Studios, which is quite the centre for European metal, hosting recordings for Ensight, Elvenking (whose violinist Lethien Polo performs on “Of Birth And Death”) and many more.

If you enjoy the ‘raise a beer’ sing-alongs of power metal and symphonic metal’s luminaries such as Epica, Delain and maybe even Nightwish at times, they “Lunaris” is one for you.


Tracklisting :

1 – Till The End
2 – The Rabbit Of The Moon
3 – Lunaris
4 – Under Your Spell
5 – Enigma
6 – Wish Upon A Star
7 – The Dangerous Art Of…
8 – Without You
9 – Of Birth and Death
10 – Nameless City
11 – Enigma (English version)

Band Line Up:

Chiara Tricarico – Vocals
Alberto Melianto – Guitar
Marco Falanga – Guitar
Alessandro Jacobi – Bass
Guilio Capone – Drums and keyboards

Band Websites:

Band website