Sylosis – Cycle Of Suffering

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: May 2020
Released: 7th February 2020, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Andrew Shirley

England’s own Sylosis have returned from their hiatus and good grief, thank god for that. From first seeing and hearing them in the early 2000’s, they have gone from strength to strength and it seems like that time away has breathed new life into an already awesome band. This album can only push them further and higher.

Album opener “Empty Prophets” wastes little to no time in jumping into the deep end and showing you that their time away means absolutely nothing and they are here to stay while ripping up stages and frets while they do it. Lead single “I Sever” is a great indication of where the band are right now, a focused battering of the senses via anger, sadness and distress of the state of the world. “Calcified” is akin to being bludgeoned with a slab of concrete over and over for the wonderful nearly four minutes, proving that metal and thrash don’t need to be played at the speed of light to get their point across. “Invidia” takes you up and down in its pace before unleashing some glorious fret shredding, showing that Middleton and co are masters of their art. Album closer “Abandon” shows that even after their formation in 2000 to 2016 and only returning recently, they can pull out a stunningly beautiful track among the perfectly formed and carefully crafted chaos that is Cycle Of Suffering.

Sylosis are a modern band, no doubts there, but they have enough of a foot in the history of metal and thrash that nothing they’ve put out would be out of place in a list of the all-time greats.

If there were one word to give this album, I think it would be “explosive” without a doubt. Do not delay on checking this out.



1. Empty Prophets
2. I Sever
3. Cycle of Suffering
4. Shield
5. Calcified
6. Invidia
7. Idle Hands
8. Apex of Disdain
9. Arms Like A Noose
10. Devils In Their Eyes
11. Disintegrate
12. Abandon

Band Line Up:

Josh Middleton – Lead guitars & vocals
Conor Marshall – Bass guitar
Alex Bailey – Rhythm guitar
Ali Richardson – Drums

Band Websites: