Edenbridge – Dynamind

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December 2019
Released: 2019 / SPV
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Long time readers will know I’m a big fan of Edenbridge. Having got on the band wagon early and joining the fan-club, I’ve been a loyalist for almost 20 years now.  The Austrians are back with studio album #10, DYNAMID.

It’s a nice package, self-produced and released but in conjunction with long-time partner SPV.  It’s a nice digipak with a 24 page booklet, and is often the case these days there is a bonus disc of the instrumental versions, where they simply strip off the vocal track.  I don’t think I’ll listen to it much because the beautiful voice and delivery of Sabine is one of the major attractions of this band.  The elegant and regal looking cover reminds me of something you might see on a House Of Lords album cover.

The early press release said that this is the bands heaviest album, and they could be right. The rhythm section of really bring it to the fore and perhaps new bassist Stefan Gimpl (Crystallion) who is used to playing fast, brought some new energy to the songs.  The core duo of Lanvall and Sabine are intact of course. The band also stretches out on cuts like ‘On The Other Side’ where they inject just a hint of folk sound, an almost celtic lilt, with some nice acoustic/electric guitar interplay. Swirling orchestral parts add some great sections but the guitar crunch is omni-present.

A 4.5 rating might seem a bit high and I fully admit that because of my long-standing fondness for the band, I have over the years artificially inflated my scores, where a maybe a four out of five should suffice, it gets the bump up, call it writers privilege. DYNAMIND fully deserves your attention as one of the strongest albums in their long career.  I’m so pleased so see that this deep into their catalogue they can still take it up a notch and add new dynamics.


Line up:

Lanval- Guitar, Piano, Keyboards, Dulcimer, Bouzouki, Mandolin
Sabine Edelsbacher-Vocals
Dominik Sebastian-Guitar
Johannes Jungreithmeier-Drums
Stefan Gimpl-Bass

Track listing: 

1. The Memory Hunter
2. Live And Let Go
3. Where Oceans Collide
4. On The Other Side
5. All Our Yesterdays
6. The Edge Of Your World
7. Tauerngold
8. What Dreams May Come
9. The Last Of His Kind
10. Dynamind