Nightwish – End Of An Era (DVD review)

Spread the metal:

Nightwish – End Of An Era (DVD review)
Reviewed: October, 2019
Released: 2006, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: JP

As of the time that I’m writing this review, former Nightwish singer, Tarja Turunen’s is about to release her solo album called IN THE RAW. In my quest to review every Metal DVD ever created, this is a good a time as any to turn back to clock to review Tarja’s last performance with her old band.   In October this year it will have been 14 years since this concert was held in Helsinki, Finland on October 21st, 2005, the final night of the Once world tour.

There are many, many versions of this release, so for the record I am reviewing the 2006, Nuclear Blast two CD/DVD in the slipcase version.  It comes with a 16 page full-colour booklet as well.

The concert is magnificent to behold but you could see the band looked a bit tired.  It is a big indoor arena gig with a big production, multi-camera shoot lots of flyover shots, crowd shots, weeping fans, explosions and fireworks and all the big beautiful bombast one would expect from Nightwish.   All the big hits are performed with gusto, ‘Wishmaster’, ‘Nemo’, ‘Kinslayer’,  Tarj’s beautiful solo ballas ‘Sleeping Sun’, a lovely fiery version of ‘Phantom Of The Opera’ and show stopper ‘I Wish I Had an Angel’. They were at band at one of the many peaks in their career.

For me the hour long documentary called ‘A Day Before Tomorrow’  is a pretty cool bonus feature.  It is not so much of a full documentary but a road-movie with lots of candid clips.  It is a low budget, low-key overview of the last two week of the monster world tour.   Many of the segments are the same format…arrive at airport, get to hotel, go to press conferences, sign autographs. go to hall, and then as the band hits the stage, the clips fades as they are bowing and walking off the stage. It is quite well done actually. Again everyone looks tired; drummer and guitarist Jukka and Empuu managing a bit better than Marco and Tarja and at times Tuomas looks just completely drained.  It was probably the weight of the world as he knew he was about to fire his song-bird diva in less than two weeks, in what could be a career crippling move. Interesting to see Tarja husband by her side every step of the way but never really communicating with the band.

There is a bitter-sweetness about this release that leaves a slightly bad aftertaste when watching this concert.  The band knew that it was her last, and yet the show must go on. Fans only found out later, that Tarja was immediately fired after this gig. The end of an era indeed!  Regardless, this DVD is the perfect way to immortalize the first phase of her stellar career. END OF AN ERA is must for all Nightwish fans.


Tuomas Holopainen-Keyboards
Marco Hietala-Bass, Vocals
Emu Vuorinen-Guitar
Jukka Nevalainen-Drums
Tarja Turunen-Vocals

Track listing:

1. Dark Chest Of Wonders
2. Planet Hell
3. Ever Dream
4. Kinslayer
5. Phantom Of The Opera
6. The Siren
7. Sleeping Sun
8. High Hopes
9. Bless The Child
10. Wishmaster
11. Slaying The Dreamer
12. Kuolema tekee taiteilijan
13. Nemo
14. Ghost Love Score
15. Stone People
16. Creek Mary´s Blood
17. Over The Hills and Far Away
18. Wish I Had an Angel

• The Day Before Tomorrow documentary (55 minutes)
• Picture gallery