Entombed A.D. – Bowels Of Earth

Spread the metal:

September 2019
Released: August 30th, 2019 / Century Media
Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine


Formed by former Entombed members LG Petrov (vocals), Victor Brandt (bass), Nico Elgstrand (guitar) and Olle Dahlstedt (drums), this marauding band of death metal warriors have steadily established their own identity over the last five years. Debut album Back To The Front was a raw and raucous revelation that delighted fans old and new. Two years later, the monstrous Dead Dawn emerged, building on the debut’s furious power and confirming Entombed A.D. as major players in today’s world of brutality. Fast forward to 2019 and the third chapter in the band’s savage saga is ready to be unleashed.
And with that, the bands savage saga continues on. One of those things on the “to get to” list has been to check out a full-length release by Entombed A.D. Having been a fan of the previous incarnation of the band and owning a few releases, Entombed to me were/are always a good band. It was always a toss-up on what they were going to sound like on the next release. And though I enjoy pretty much all their music, it is that classic Swedish death metal sound I prefer most by Entombed.
That old-school Swedish death metal sound is what Entombed A.D. tends to be more focused on. Now, I have heard a track or two from the past two releases but never ran out to pick up a copy. That is until now. And that classic sound is ever so present on BOWELS OF EARTH.
This album at first listen gives off that instant classic vibe. Powerful and catchy riffs accompanied by the Entombed signature death -n- roll style that adds just the right amount of groove to make anyone want to start that head-bobbing throughout the course of the disc. This reminds me of more of the CLANDESTINE or LEFT-HAND PATH days of Entombed just the way I like it, simple and straightforward death metal. LG Petrov states about the album, “simple and straightforward death metal.” Hmm, where have I read that before?
My copy does not include the Motorhead cover of ‘Back To The Funny Farm’. Maybe it is not PC enough for the whiners here in the good ‘ole U.S., but it does have the Hank Williams cover ‘I’ll Never Get Out of This World Alive’ and a kick-ass cover it is. This is a damn fine album by some of the masters of the genre. Like ‘em or not, give this bad boy a spin and you will!

1. Torment Remains
2. Elimination
3. Hell Is My Home
4. Bowels of Earth
5. Bourbon Nightmare
6. Fit for a King
7. Worlds Apart
8. Through the Eyes of the Gods
9. I’ll Never Get Out of This World Alive (Hank Williams cover)
10. To Eternal Night
11. Back at the Funny Farm (Motörhead cover)

Olle Dahlstedt – Drums
Nico Elgstrand – Guitars
L-G Petrov – Vocals
Victor Brandt – Bass
Guilherme Miranda – Guitars