Nightbound – Nightbound (EP)

Spread the metal:

July 2019
Released: May 15th, 2019 / Awakening Records
Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine


It is actually pretty cool when you come across a new band that is so inspired / influenced by a genre (NWOBHM), that when you hear their music one would think that they could have been the reason said genre had come about to start with.
Female fronted Nightbound, hailing from Paraguay are just that band. At first listen I was highly impressed with the bands four tracks here on this EP. Don’t get me wrong, the mesmerizing and somber version of Deep Purple’s “Soldier Of Fortune” is done extremely well, it’s just the originals are as rocking as ever and are delivered with a full on traditional heavy metal fury like no other.
Nightbound formed back in 2018. Yes, a long, long time ago. The band was immediately able to put out a limited release demo which caught the attention of many in the industry. They ended up getting a deal with a Chinese label, Awakening Records and now we have this kick-ass EP. There was not much on the press sheet other than ‘more to come soon’. That’s all I need to know.
So in short, Nightbound are a band who’s sound is highly entrenched in the style of the late 70’s to early 80’s NWOBHM as well as a more traditional heavy metal. So yeah, it is a hard rocking EP to say the least. This one is not only for fans of Thin Lizzy, Saxon, Girlschool, Rock Goddess and Lucifer, but for all fans of anything hard and heavy. A more modern comparison would be Icarus Witch, Haunt (U.S.), Blade Killer and Bella Novela. Nightbound are a band that WILL be making big waves here in the near future so be prepared! You have been warned.

1. Nightbound
2. Time Is On Your Side
3. No Mercy
4. The Fighting Never Ends
5. Soldier Of Fortune (Deep Purple)

Katz Leiv – Bass
Miky Doldán – Drums
Mike Martinez – Guitars (lead)
Arianna Cuenca – Vocals


, ,