Pectora – Untaken

Spread the metal:

May 2019
Released: May 3rd, 2019 / Mighty Music
Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Danish heavy metal has a new spokesperson, and it is Pectora. Here we are blessed with their bombastic debut album, UNTAKEN to assault your senses and literally rock your world.
Forming in 2013, Pectora immediately set their eyes on the prize by releasing their much respected demo, BURGEON OF HATE, the following year. 2017 saw the release of the even more critically acclaimed EP REDEMPTION which set the wheels in motion for what we now have here.

This album for me was an easy one to fall for right out of the gates. Pectora’s sound hits all the marks of many of the bands I love. I am sure it will strike a chord with just as many metal heads of the world as well. Right from the start the speakers blaze with a furious heavy metal sound to that of Tornillo era Accept. Throughout one can hear sounds reminiscent to the likes of Judas Priest, Hammerfall and Metallica. Does this mean they try and pull off sounding like the aforementioned acts? No it does not. Pectora have a sound that is all their own.

In this day and age it is tough to have a distinct sound. Pectora pull it off very well. Their uses of the power, melodic thrash, and hard rock genres give them an edge that a lot of bands these days do not have. They have an original sound with an old-school vibe all the while sounding fairly modern at the same time. Vocally, Jacobsen has a sound close to James Hetfield. With that, I would say as it is close to Mr. Hetfield, Jacobsen tends to sound more like an actual vocalist with tone and range. Not just a guy who is singing. Not sure if that makes a lick of sense to you, but in my head it does.

UNTAKEN, to me is an instant classic. A very well-rounded album chalked full of just the right amount of heaviness and melody to win the ears of even the pickiest metal heads over. A true head banging masterpiece!


1. Untaken
2. Collide
3. Haunted Memory
4. The Fare
5. Running out of Days
6. Unkindled Flame
7. No Regrets
8. The Arrival

Laurids Münier – Bass
Nicolas Kraunsøe Frandsen – Drums
Søren Weiss Kristiansen – Guitars
Morten S. Nielsen – Guitars
Kenneth Jacobsen – Vocals