Lik – Mass Funeral Evocation

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: May, 2019
Released: 2019, Metal Blade
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Courtney Solloway

LIK – Mass Funeral Evocation

This album is heavy. Seriously heavy. However, this kind of lets it down in ways I don’t see very often. Now, if you know me and what I’ve reviewed in the past, you’ll know that I absolutely love heavy metal. The heavier the better 90% of the time. With this particular album, it seems that it had the potential to be better if it was ever so slightly toned down.

The album builds with its first song and this is probably the most enjoyable track overall for me. It’s still heavy, still has some insane riffs, licks and solos and plenty of heavy bass and this is the kind of level I would have appreciated throughout the album. The second track seems to take on a much more chaotic stance in the album. I’d say that the solo is enjoyable but the verse and chorus have too many elements that make it hard to listen to.

Something else I can’t come to grips with are the lyrics. They’re brutal and gruesome, and ordinarily this doesn’t bother me but perhaps there are one too many heavy elements that the lyrics didn’t need to be as bad as they are. A prime example of this is the well-named track Sickening. There is a lot going on in this track that overwhelms the senses and the lyrics you’re able to pick out are very disturbing.

One amazing thing about this band though is the two live tracks at the end of the album. If this does end up being an album you’d enjoy it’s good to know that they sound exactly the same live. I couldn’t find a difference in their live performances from those on the album.

Whilst this album isn’t a favourite of mine, it’s not terrible, just not exactly to my tastes.



1. Serum 141 3:51
2. Le Morte Homme 4:12
3. Ghoul 2:19
4. Death Orgasmic 2:58
5. Sickening 4:36
6. Endless Oceans of Blood 4:24
7. Behold the Beheaded 2:56
8. Necromancer 2:29
9. Skin Necrosis 4:23
10. Trail of Entrails 3:25
11. Le Morte Homme Live 4:51
12. Skin Necrosis Live 5:38


Chris Barkensjö – drums & vocals
Tomas Åkvik – vocals & guitars
Niklas “Nille” Sandin – guitars
Joakim “Myre” Antman – bass