Bloodbound – Rise Of The Dragon Empire

Spread the metal:
BloodBound – Rise Of The Dragon Empire

Reviewed: May 2019
Released: 2019, AFM Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Courtney Solloway

I had a lot of fun listening to this album. In truth, power metal isn’t a genre I find myself exploring very often. In fact, if I’m being completely honest the only one I can name off the top of my head is DragonForce and that’s simply due to playing way too much Guitar Hero back in the day. But I digress, Bloodbound is an excellent band. They combine all of the power metal tropes you’re used to hearing and then take it the extra mile by adding hymns, symphonic metal and folk. Although I will admit some of the folk seems to bleed into Asian folk music as much as it does the Nordic folk. It’s strange but definitely enjoyable.

Each song plays out as its own story – its own tale if you will – every song seemingly more enjoyable than the last. It’s not just one of those albums I can see myself headbanging along to, but actually singing and dancing around to as well. Not that I do a whole lot of actual dancing, but I might just take it up when listening to this album. This band have definitely sparked a new fan in me, of not just power metal but more specifically them. There’s no darkness in their songs, they’re upbeat and fun, which is something you get in the metal industry but not nearly as much with the genres I listen to where it’s angry and heavy.

I don’t think I can give any criticism of this album as I enjoyed everything I heard. There are inspirations taken from places I didn’t expect. The last track, for example, had a subtle nod towards Phantom Of The Opera – at least that’s what I heard. There are also a few small nods to Ozzy Osbourne’s early solo stuff, which may have given inspiration. None of this is bad, in fact I appreciate them entirely.

You can expect to hear some powerful riffs, tales of old, soulful vocals, extreme solos and the stuff of legend.



01 – Rise Of The Dragon Empire
02 – Slayer Of Kings
03 – Skyriders And Stormbringers
04 – Magical Eye
05 – Blackwater Bay
06 – Giants Of Heaven
07 – The Warlock’s Trail
08 – A Blessing In Sorcery
09 – Breaking The Beast
10 – Balerion
11 – Reign Of Fire


Patrik J. Selleby (Vocals)
Tomas Olsson (Guitars)
Henrik Olsson (Guitars)
Anders Broman (Bass)
Fredrik Bergh (Keyboards)
Daniel Sjögren (Drums)