Spread the metal:

US dark melodic metal band WITHERFALL have announced the release of their acoustic version of “Ode to Despair”. The original recording can be found on WITHERFALL’s previous album A Prelude To Sorrow. The acoustic version is going to be released on the Vintage EP, which is set for release on March 22nd and will be available during the group’s upcoming European tour.

“Being invited as special guests on Sonata Arctica’s ‘Acoustic Adventures’ tour we knew we had to re-imagine some of our songs to realize the vibe of the tour. Our partners at Century Media came up with a brilliant idea of recording a few of these and including them on the upcoming ‘Vintage EP’. Being our most successful single to date “Ode to Despair” was the first one thought of. The track was recorded in a split session bookending a tour of Japan with Kamelot. Vocals and guitars were literally followed by a 5am flight to the Far East, then after the tour we headed straight from the airport to the studio. This is also the first song to incorporate new keyboardist; Alex Nasla. We also had the privilege of working with James “Timbali” Cornwell (Earh Wind & Fire, Janet Jackson) who provided the percussion that really makes this track standout.”

Fans can listen to the acoustic version of “Ode to Despair” here:

WITHERFALL previously released their single and Tom Petty cover, “I Won’t Back Down”, from the Vintage EP. Watch the official music video of the cover here:

The Vintage EP is available for pre-order now. WITHERFALL will be offering an exclusive green “Verdigris” vinyl limited to 200 copies alongside t-shirt bundles. The transparent-magenta “Vintage Pinot Noir” vinyl, limited to 100 copies, is already sold out from Century Media’s European Store.

Black vinyl, the limited hand-numbered CD Digipak, and digital formats are available here: witherfallband.lnk.to/vintage. Pre-saves are also available, where fans have a chance to win guitar lessons with Joseph Michael, as well as guitar picks, a patch, a Vintage poster, and a Vintage t-shirt. Pre-saves are available here: forms.sonymusicfans.com/campaign/witherfall-vintage-sweepstakes/

WITHERFALL will be part of Sonata Arctica’s “Acoustic Adventures” tour, which is kicking off on March 13th in Oslo, Norway.

»Acoustic Adventures«
Presented by Rock Hard, Rocks, musix, Rock It!, metal.de
w/ WITHERFALL (‘Acoustic set’)
May 13 – Oslo, Norway – Parkteatret
May 14 – Stockholm, Sweden – Södra Teatern
May 15 – Malmo, Sweden – Palladium
May 16 – Hamburg, Germany – Fabrik
May 17 – Eindhoven, Netherlands – Effenaar
May 19 – London, United Kingdom – Islington Assembly Hall
May 20 – Haarlem, Netherlands – Patronaat
May 21 – Aschaffenburg, Germany – Colos-Saal
May 22 – Paris, France – Le Trabendo
May 23 – Lyon, France – Ninkasi Kao
May 24 – Mailand, Italy – Teatro Dal Verme
May 26 – Pratteln, Switzerland – Z7
May 27 – Nurnberg, Germany – Hirsch
May 28 – Prag, Czech Republic – Roxy
May 29 – Stuttgart, Germany – Im Wizemann (Club)
May 30 – Bochum, Germany – Christuskirche
April 26-27 – Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany – ‘Electric set’ @ Keep It True XXII
w/ Candlemass, Satan, Agent Steel, Midnight & many others

Booking: www.facebook.com/DragonProductionsOfficial

WITHERFALL is Joseph Michael (Vocals/Guitar/Keyboards), Jake Dreyer (Guitars), Anthony Crawford (Bass), Alex Nasla (Keyboards), Steve Bolognese (Drums), and Ahmad Dubose-Dawson (Special Guest Percussionist on EU tour).

About EvilG

Owner of Metal-Rules.com
View all posts by EvilG →