Walls Of Blood – Imperium

Spread the metal:

March 2019
Released: February 22nd, 2019 / Metalville Records
Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine



Guitar extraordinaire Glen Dover is back with his latest project Walls of Blood. Glen may not be best known for his band Eidolon which produced, I believe, seven very underrated albums. You may know him for his work in and with the likes of Megadeth, Testament and King Diamond to name a couple.
IMPERIUM is a power metal sleigh ride. If you take all the bands he has been in over the past and mix them all together, you will get a real good inkling of what to expect from Walls of Blood.
You may also notice that IMPERIUM is chalked full of some of the biggest vocal talents in metal. As each track has a bit of its own life and sound, you can hear very easily each track is best suited for the guest vocalist for that track. Whether that was the thought from the beginning or not, it is a very well-constructed album with just enough variety from one track to the next to not become redundant.
I knew Glen was quite the talent, but this new project he has put together niches him up a bit higher on the pole. With that being said, he states this is a ‘project’. With the right touring vocalist, Walls of Blood could be a force to reckon with in the metal scene. Not that the world needs just another old power metal band. What we need is a good one and I say Walls of Blood is one of those good ones.

1. Leave This World Behind (Nils K. Rue)
2. Discordia (Todd La Torre)
3. Waiting To Die (Chuck Billy)
4. Blood Sacrifice Ritual (Henning Basse)
5. Tarnished Dream (Tim “Ripper” Owens)
6. Walls Of Blood (Matt Cuthbertson)
7. The Fault Of Man” (Henning Basse)
8. Dark Lords Of Sleep (Dan Cleary)
9. Junkhead (Lance Harvill – Alice In Chains cover)
10. Seven Spirits (Henning Basse)

Glen Drover-Guitars, Keyboards