Arion – Life Is Not Beautiful

Spread the metal:

December 2018
Released: October 19th, 2018 / AFM Records
Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Finland’s Arion may have only hit the metal scene just few years ago, but they hit it hard! They released their critically acclaimed EP NEW DAWN in late 2013 and have been on an uphill climb ever since with chart topping singles and regular rotation on Hard Rock stations around the world.

LIFE IS NOT BEAUTIFUL is Arion’s 2nd full-length release and it is a good one. Jumping into the symphonic power metal genre and being noticed is no small feat. Many try to enter it, yet only a few succeed. Arion is one band who has succeeded obviously. And the only way from here is up.

I was hooked at first listen. From the musicianship to the vocals to the catchiness of the tracks, these guys know their craft and present it in a fashion that any of their predecessors should be a bit jealous of. If not now, it shouldn’t be long before Arion are a household name within the genre.

This is not your typical sounding symphonic power metal band. They do have that title down pat. They do come off slightly heavier with a bit more punch to their style than what one may typically think of when listening to a band in this genre. Not to pigeon-hole them to this, but it is as close of a genre to put them in.

LIFE IS NOT BEAUTIFUL is almost addictive in nature. I kept finding myself trying to listen to other albums the past couple weeks only to find myself coming back to this one. Be it the heavier tracks “No One Stands In My Way” and “Punish You”, to the more melodic “Through Your Falling Tears” and “Last One Falls”, I cannot seem to be able to pick out any standout tracks here. The whole album is standout!

1. The End of the Fall
2. No One Stands in My Way
3. At the Break of Dawn
4. The Last Sacrifice
5. Through Your Falling Tears
6. Unforgivable
7. Punish You
8. Life Is Not Beautiful
9. Last One Falls
10. Last of Us (2018 Version)
11. Seven (2018 Version)
12. I Am the Storm (2018 Version)

Gege Velinov – Bass
Topias Kupiainen – Drums
Iivo Kaipainen – Guitars
Arttu Vauhkonen – Keyboards, Synths
Lassi Vääränen – Vocals