Glenn Hughes & Laurence Jones @ Glasgow O2 Academy

Spread the metal:

Glenn Hughes & Laurence Jones

@ Glasgow O2 Academy

12th October 2018

Review & Photos by Gavin Lowrey

It’s a surprisingly early start for Laurence Jones that took everyone (especially this reviewer) by surprise as the British Bluesman struts his stuff on the O2 Academy stage.

I arrived 5 songs into the 7 tune set and despite the performance being solid, with some great guitar work, for someone who has the number of albums that he has, throwing 2 covers into a 7 song set is simply not good enough.

Maybe it was a case of “I’ll play something the crowd will know”, but personally I’d rather hear an artist’s original material, especially when the artist concerned is that good!

Glenn Hughes is a man on a mission. Since his recovery from a plethora of issues in the mid 90’s, his modus operandi has been to give the general public a taste of what should have been had fate not deal him the hand it did.

Stormbringer opens the set, and immediately, we witness a man at the top of his game, in fact he’s in a geostationary orbit above his game.

Might Just Take Your Life is the second track and gets the (somewhat older) crowd really going before Sail Away gives us the first taste of funk of the evening.

The highlight of the set is Gettin’ Tighter, complete with his intro tribute to Tommy Bolin in which guitarist Soren Anderson does the song great service.

You Fool No One (complete with the obligatory keyboard solo) and You Keep On Moving lead us into the epic Mistreated, which although good, pads out the set when what we really wanted was more tunes!

Finishing off the main part of the set is a storming version of Smoke on the Water that morphs into Georgia On My Mind, in which Glenn shows off his incredible vocal range.

Okay, yes, Smoke On The Water is an Ian Gillan song, so not technically something Glenn was initially involved in, but to be honest, who cares?

The band disappear for a swift break before returning to finish off the evening with a turbo-charged version of Burn and the only other non-Hughes Deep Purple track, Highway Star, which brought the house down.

Hughes is back on tour at the beginning of next year playing a few of the towns and cities that he missed this time around and if it’s as good as this, I’ll be there!


  1. Stormbringer
  2. Might Just Take Your Life
  3. Sail Away
  4. Gettin’ Tighter
  5. Keep on Moving
  6. Fool No One
  7. Mistreated
  8. Smoke On The Water/Georgia On My Mind


  1. Burn
  2. Highway Star