Paranoid – Heavy Mental Fuck-Up!

Spread the metal:

November 2018
Released: September 28th, 2018 / The Sign Records
Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

At first listen of Sweden’s own Paranoid, I was taken back a bit. I was taken back to a day when punk bands were crossing over to a more metal sound. A sound that some called hardcore at the time, others called crossover and others called D-Beat.

I just heard the term D-Beat for the first time trying to find some info on Paranoid so don’t feel bad if you haven’t. I have listened to a wide range of punk and metal with all genres in between and this is a term I had not heard of before. No worries though as I put a little explanation of it below.

So These Sweds who formed in 2012 are set to unleash there sophomore full-length HEAVY MENTAL FUCK-UP! on to the world. It consists of 12 raucous tracks of crusty metal/punk fury. It is somewhat of a throwback sound, yet a sound and style that are not done very well these days. Paranoid are at the top of their game with this one.

The production is perfect on this as it has that raw, cassette recorded in the basement sound to it. Okay, so some may be thinking that is back, but no it is not. It is the perfect sound for this genre of music. Each track are just as catchy as the next which makes this 36 minute or so album seem to go way too quick.

If you are into Japanese crust / hardcore or raw punk with thrash influences, Sweden’s Paranoid are soon going to be a favorite of yours. I can only tell you that you have got to give them a listen for yourself before taking my word for it.

“D-beat (also known as “discore”, “disrock”, “kängpunk” (Swedish for “boot-punk”), “discrust”, and crust-beat) is a style of hardcore punk, developed in the early 1980s by imitators of Discharge, after whom the genre is named, as well as a drum beat characteristic of this subgenre.”

1. Jikeidan 自警団 (Jikeidan)
2. Syuugeki 襲撃 (Syuugeki)
3. Shinryaku Kitareri 侵略来たれり (Shinryaku Kitareri)
4. Fukurokouji 袋小路 (Fukurokouji)
5. Daigyakusatsu 大虐殺 (Daigyakusatsu)
6. Jikangire 時間切れ (Jikangire)
7. Fukusyuu 復讐 (Fukusyuu)
8. Youshanaki Satsuriku 容赦無き殺戮 (Youshanaki Satsuriku)
9. Arashi No Me 嵐の目 (Arashi No Me)
10. Shi Ni Itarumade 死に至るまで (Shi Ni Itarumade)
11. Shirarezaru Mon (CD Bonus Track)
12. Yogen (CD Bonus Track)

Emil Bergslid
Henrik Låsgårdh
Joakim Staaf-Sylsjö