Manticora – To Kill To Live To Kill

Spread the metal:

October 2018
Released: August 3rd, 2018 / ViciSolum Productions
Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

For those unfamiliar with Manticora, I would like to just say you are doing yourself as a metal fan a disservice. The Band originally formed in late 1997. The core sound of the band at the time was entrenched in the hard hitting sounds of power metal with not only an epic side, but plenty of touches of thrash metal. All of which have become the bands trademark sound.

It has been some years since I myself have put a Manticora album in the player. After listening to this, I must admit way too long. TO KILL TO LIVE TO KILL is the first album by the band in 8 years. I feel it was worth the wait. Whether you were waiting or not, just roll with it.

This album is the first part of a double-concept album. It is chalked full with over 70 minutes of classic Manticora style metal. The album concept is based on the very successful horror novel penned by vocalist Lars F. Larsen. I believe the second part is due to be released sometime next year.

With a style that includes the perfect blend of power, thrash, and melody, Manticora have almost outdone themselves with this latest composition. All the tracks flow well from start to finish allowing the listener to be fully engulfed within the story line.
And for those who are unfamiliar with Manticora they sit right there with bands such as Darkane, Into Eternity, Nevermore, Nocturnal Rites, Demons & Wizards, and, well you get the picture. Check out the video below. Looking forward to part 2!


01. Piano Concerto 1 – B Flat minor…
02. Echoes of A Silent Scream
03. Through the Eyes of The Killer – Towering Over You
04. Katana – Awakening the Lunacy
05. The Farmer’s Tale Pt. 1 – The Aftermath of Indifference
06. The Devil in Lisbon (instrumental)
07. Growth
08. Humiliation Supreme (instrumental)
09. Nothing Lasts Forever
10. Katana – Opium
11. Through the Eyes of The Killer – Revival of The Muse That Is Violence
12. The Farmer’s Tale Pt. 2 – Annihilation at The Graves

Kristian Larsen – guitars
Lars F. Larsen – vocals
Stefan Johansson – guitars
Sebastian “Ceppe” Andersen – bass
Lawrence Dinamarca – Session Drums