Megadeth – Killing Is My Business And Business Is Good: The Final Kill

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: August 2018
Released: 2018 Legacy/Century Media
Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

Megadeth’s debut full length studio album has been reissued as a deluxe digipack in celebration of the album’s 35th anniversary by Legacy/Century Media Records. Remixed by Mark Lewis (Trivium, Death Angel, Devildriver, Whitechapel) and remastered by Ted Jensen to more closely match Dave Mustaine’s original vision for the album; a number of early live tracks and demos are included as added incentive for those who already own the original pressing.

The remix and remastering job breathes new life into these treasured thrash metal classics showcasing the original Megadeth lineup in all of their chaotic and destructive mid-eighties glory. As for the bonus tracks we are treated to various incarnations of Megadeth performing live in concert with “Last Rites/Loved To Deth (1987 London, UK)”  “Killing Is My Business…And Business Is Good!” (Denver, CO 1986) “The Skull Beneath The Skin (London, UK 1990)” “Rattlehead (Bochum, Germany 1987)” “Chosen Ones (Denver, CO 1986)” “Looking Down The Cross (Denver, CO 1986)” and “Mechanix (Denver, CO 1986).”  The live tracks are of much poorer sound quality, likely bootleg recordings and not of soundboard quality but are still pretty cool for what they are; an archival insight into the band’s early live performances.

Three demos tracks are included from the band’s original 1984 demo. Fans are treated to “Last Rites/Loved To Deth” “The Skull Beneath The Skin” and “Mechanix”. The sound quality on the demo tracks are surprisingly decent and are pretty representative of how ready to kill these guys were from the word “Go!”.  Also worth mentioning is at the time of the demo tracks Megadeth was just a three-piece with all guitars and vocals handled by Dave Mustaine, Dave Ellefson on bass and Lee Rausch (Dark Angel, Wargod) on drums.

If you are a longtime fan of Megadeth or just now discovering the brilliance of the band’s music I’d recommend checking out “Killing Is My Business And Business Is Good: The Final Kill”. There is a plethora of bonus material and the remix and remastering job makes this a worthwhile purchase for any thrash metal maniac!

Promo Video


1. Last Rites / Loved to Deth (Remastered)
2. Killing Is My Business…And Business Is Good! (Remastered)
3. The Skull Beneath the Skin (Remastered)
4. Rattlehead (Remastered)
5. Chosen Ones (Remastered)
6. Looking Down the Cross (Remastered)
7. Mechanix (Remastered)
8. These Boots (Remastered)
9. Last Rites / Loved to Deth (live) (1987 London, UK)
10. Killing Is My Business…And Business Is Good! (live) (1986 Denver, CO)
11. The Skull Beneath the Skin (live) (1990 London, UK)
12. Rattlehead (live) (1987 Bochum, Germany)
13. Chosen Ones (live) (1986 Denver, CO)
14. Looking Down the Cross (live) (1986 Denver, CO)
15. Mechanix (live) (1986 Denver, CO)
16. Last Rites / Loved to Deth (demo) (Remastered)
17. The Skull Beneath the Skin (demo) (Remastered)
18. Mechanix (demo) (Remastered)

Classic MegadethLine-up:

Dave Mustaine: Lead Vocals, Rhythm and Lead Guitar, Piano
Chris Poland: Lead Guitar
David Ellefson: Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals
Gar Samuelson: Drums

, , ,