Neorhythm – Zetetic

Spread the metal:

August 2018
Released: June 18th, 2018 / Self-Release
Rating: 3.5 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine


I’d like to say that these guys from Finland have a sound that is out of this world, but that may come off as a farce once you’ve listened to it. Conceptually, yes, out of this world indeed. A brief story of how Neorhythm the band came to be has been added below.
Many of the lyrics are sung in a fairly decipherable manner, yet for me to pull out lines that completely make sense with only 10 or so listens has proven a bit difficult to accomplish. I do believe, and mainly by the song titles themselves, this album is chalked full of themes of dark matter and Sci-Fi themes.
Sonically, this is a very heavy album. And even though I was hesitant the first couple of runs through, this is one of those albums, like a fine wine that gets better with age. I cannot sit on this any longer so at this point I can say that I do really like ZETETIC from start to finish. I have that feeling though, in another month or two of keeping it on the thumb drive, it will continue to grow on me.
They play a very heavy groove, technical prog metal. At first one can hear the stylings of say, Mnemic, Mushroomhead, Slipknot and Messuggah. That and some basic metal in general thrown in make for a glorious flight into the unknown.
The origin story of NEORHYTHM as told by the cosmic metal duo, is an intriguing one, to say the least:
“On a distant planet in the constellation E61,3 (which we call Neuw ourselves),two renegade traitors of interstellar spaces from the red subrace of Nameless decided to penetrate the Virgo Supercluster. It happened on the earthly calendar in the year 1703. For more than 300 years our spaceship plowed through the galaxy until it came across the Milky Way to the bright yellow dwarf G2V, which you call Sol. A strong stream of stellar wind carried us to the orbit of planet Earth, where as a result of a breakdown of one of the plasma engines we were forced to land in the geographic terrestrial region of Lapland, in a barren taiga. Since we needed help, we sent encrypted sound signals to all regions of the universe, as well as to the top leaders of the human Terra planet, to provide us with technological support. Our signals, converted into musical scales, were intercepted by the developed radio frequencies of earthlings, and you can now listen to them in the form that you call songs.”

1. Molten Mind
2. Second Chance
3. Golden Mean
4. Cosmic Genes
5. Dark Matter
6. Philia Lost
7. Matrix Sleep
8. Nanogods
9. Pictures of Future
10. Quintessence