Stormwitch – Bound To The Witch

Spread the metal:

Stormwitch – Bound To The WitchReviewed: July 2018
Released: June 29th, 2018 / Massacre Records
Rating: 3.5 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Inspired by the NWOBHM movement, Stormwitch began their assault on the world way way back in 1984 with the release of their critically acclaimed WALPURGIS NIGHT. As with many other German metal bands of the day, they were true pioneers of the genre in their country back then. And to this day still have a devout following.

BOUND TO THE WITCH is the 11th studio release by the legendary metal act. Stormwitch may be a bit underrated internationally. I am hoping for them this album helps to strengthen their following as their brand of heavy metal, while not groundbreaking by today’s standards, is still a great offering to the metal world.

Stormwitch’s sound has evolved a bit over the years, but not enough to segregate them from what they set out to do from the beginning. To create a true sounding heavy metal that compares to or even in some instances supersedes many of the bands with their genre.

BOUND TO THE WITCH picks up where 2015’s SEASON OF THE WITCH left off. Pure unadulterated power / heavy metal done with the precision of a fine Swiss watch. The vocal of founder Any Muck are some of the best in the business soaring higher and finer than ever. Muck is accompanied by some of the most current yet classic sounding metal riffs I’ve heard for some time now.

The production and quality of their latest effort is one for the books. BOUND BY THE WITCH is one that will not disappoint by any means. There is plenty of charging metal riffs and just the right amount of melodies to not over bore the listener. Fans old and new rejoice as the witch is back! Fans of Helloween, Primal Fear, Dream Evil, Edguy and the likes, if you have not done so yet, get off your asses and check out Stormwitch. The spell has been cast, now reap the reward.


1. Songs Of Steel
2. Odin’s Ravens
3. The Choir Of The Dead
4. Bound To The Witch
5. Arya
6. Stormwitch
7. Life Is Not A Dream
8. King George
9. Ancient Times
10. The Ghost Of Mansfield Park
11. Nightingale
12. Stronger Than Heaven (Digipak Bonus)
13. Rats In The Attic (Digipak Bonus)
14. Priest Of Evil (Digipak Bonus)

Andy Mück – Vocals
Jürgen “Wanschi” Wannenwetsch – Bass, Backing Vocals
Tobias Kipp – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Volker Schmietow – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Marc Oppold – Drums