Judas Priest – Firepower

Spread the metal:
Judas Priest - Firepower
Judas Priest – Firepower

Judas Priest – Firepower
Released: March 9th, 2018 / Columbia Records
Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

I was a bit shocked that one of our staff writers hadn’t picked this gem up for review. I must admit with this one, I am a bit intimidated as after all, this is the mighty Priest I must speak about.

With no introductions being needed by these heavy metal legends, Judas Priest’s FIREPOWER is out and moving seemingly well for the band. For many fans of the band, FIREPOWER is an exciting sleigh ride of epic proportions. Priest is a band that is up in my top 5 favorites of all time. Sure they can do wrong, and for the sake of not arguing, I will not delve into any of those past performances.

FIREPOWER picks up where REDEEMER OF SOULS left off. Which many of us felt REDEEMER OF SOULS picked up where PAINKILLER left off. Judas Priest heavy metal at its best. It has been a couple months since the official release. Judging by the units moved and seeing as FIREPOWER has been the bands highest chart topping album in their career, the fans have made it clear that this is yet another great Priest release.

Without getting too technical about the track rundown, which is not really my cup of tea, I can only reiterate the sheer power of Judas Priest on this album. This is a full on heavy metal assault by one of the innovators of the genre. The album is filled with plenty of galloping, crunchy riffing accompanied by more double-bass drum kicks than any other Priest album.

Robs vocals again on this album are top of his game. The dueling guitar work by Tipton and Faulkner show us once again that we need to praise Faulkner for inspiring the rest of the band to keep moving forward making the best of what heavy metal music is all about.

I honestly don’t think I can call out a weak track on the album. It is truly filled with their signature sound. There are plenty of arena-anthems that will fill in their set list very well. I am not really that big of a fan when bands play an entire album on tour as only a couple can really pull it off, but Priest could insert this entire album into a show and it would absolutely kick-ass! Just as the album does.

The mighty Priest are back once again to show all the power of heavy metal and that they are going to go out quietly, if they go out at all!


1. Firepower
2. Lightning Strike
3. Evil Never Dies
4. Never the Heroes
5. Necromancer
6. Children of the Sun
7. Guardians
8. Rising from Ruins
9. Flame Thrower
10. Spectre
11. Traitors Gate
12. No Surrender
13. Lone Wolf
14. Sea of Red

Ian Hill – Bass
Rob Halford – Vocals
Glenn Tipton – Guitars
Scott Travis – Drums
Richie Faulkner – Guitars