Defiatory – Hades Rising

Spread the metal:

Review Date: June 2018
Released: 11 May 2018, Black Lion Records
Rating: 4/5
Review by Rebekah Ann

Defiatory could easily hail from the 80’s Bay Area thrash scene, this album sounds pure American and not Scandinavian in any way.  The five Swedish fellas that make up Defiatory have clearly directed the band in that direction and it really does work well. ‘Hades Rising’ is the second album in collaboration with the label Black Lion Records, which apparently ‘contains 11 tracks of relentless neck-wrecking thrash metal’ and yeah, they’re right. Think somewhere along the lines of Exodus, the hefty Slayer style and early Metallica (ie, when they were good), with riffs, pits and beer everywhere; it’s fast, it’s catchy and it’s old school as fuck.


‘In Hell’ starts the album off in fine style and gives you a taste of what’s to come, ‘Dance of the Dead’, ‘ Stronger than God’ and ‘Death takes us All’  following along the same ruthless design. ‘Morning Star’ perhaps hints towards their Scandinavian roots, echoing with a little slower and chunkier style of riff, but the stand out track for me would be the catchy and face melting-ly fast paced ‘Metatron’. I can’t fault the writing of any of ‘Hades Rising’ as it does exactly what you want from a thrash album and is hugely memorable and fun. If you’re an avid thrash fan you will love this album; if like me you find thrash a little bit, dare I say, boring at times, I reckon this will still be one you’ll want to dip into when you need to do something really fast whilst banging your head.




01. In Hell
02. Dance of the Dead
03. King in Yellow
04. Stronger Than God
05. Death Takes Us All
06. Morningstar
07. Down To His Kingdom Below
08. Metatron
09. Bane of Creation
10. All That Remains
11. Hades Rising

Band line-up

Martin Runnzell: Vocals
Ronnie Björnström: Guitars
Ludvig Johansson: Lead Guitar
Patrik Wall: Bass