Bob Katsionis – Prognosis & Synopsis

Spread the metal:
Bob Katsionis
Bob Katsionis

Bob Katsionis – Prognosis & Synopsis
Released: February 17th, 2018 / Symmetric Records
Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Does the name Bob Katsionis sound familiar to you? If not, it should and in good time it will. Most notably known for his work and worldwide tour with the bands Firewind, Outloud and Serious Black, Bob comes back at us with his fifth solo effort, PROGNOSIS & SYNOPSIS. He has also lent his talents both writing and playing with other internationally known bands like Kamelot, Revolution Renaissance, Septic Flesh, and Nightfall.

I must admit, at first I was a bit skeptical to be reviewing not only a solo album by such an accomplished keyboard player, but just the sheer accomplishments to his credits can seem a bit intimidating all on its own.

PROGNOSIS & SYNOPSIS is not just a keys driven album as one might expect. It is a full on metal opus to tantalize the senses. Sure there are a few cinematic style treats that take the listen to another world, but it’s the stylistic metal tracks that stop you in your tracks and make one wonder how someone with so many other projects that consume so much of his time still has great music left in him at the end of the day.

I really gave up really listening to actually full-length instrumental albums sometime back. I have no real reason why but I did. The great thing here is that a majority of the tracks do not come off as instrumentals. There are plenty of hard driving songs that do not let up once they start. And there are moments in the tracks when you may be waiting for the vocals to kick in but realizing to yourself that, “this is such a great jam, vocals should not be added. No worries, they are not.

PROGNOSIS & SYNOPSIS sticks to what Bob knows and loves as a musician. Drawing from his New Age influences as well as heavy metal and prog, the mix BOB introduces to the listener is of the highest standards when it comes to his music.


1. Prognosis
2. Secret of the Nomads
3. Tomorrow Starts Today
4. Dark Matter
5. Asymmetric Parallels
6. Aegean Sunset
7. The Messenger
8. Cold Embrace
9. Amnesia
10. Synopsis

Bob Katsionis – Keyboards, Guitars, Piano
Vangelis Moraitis – drums